The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 22, 2004, 02:55am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Kelvin green

Rule 10 Section 6 Article 1 Extending the arms ... other than vertically so that the freedom of movement of an opponent is hindered when contact with arms occurs is not legal... The positions are employed in rebounding, screening, and various aspects of postplay.

I might buy that if someone actually raised their arms straight up and hit the arm there may not be a foul. However if they do anything but raise their hands or arms vertically would still be a foul.

Well, that sure isn't a monkeywrench. All Rule 10-6-1 is doing is repeating the exact same concepts that are contained in Rule 4-44. It's legal to put your arms straight up (vertically) when rebounding. If they aren't straight up, of course there could be a foul called on that person.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1