The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 20, 2004, 03:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
And returning to the original question, here's another hypo.

A1 is standing at the top of the key, dribbling, with B1 very closely guarding, and between A1 and the basket. A1 ducks and feints right. As A1 leans right, B1 does also, giving A1 space to lean forward and begin a drive. (a) A1 gets head and shoulders past and (b) steps forward and to the left with the left foot, (c) now having most of her body past B1 toward the basket, B1 still has her back to the basket. (d) Now A1 steps forward with the right foot. B1 begins to turn, but no longer has any claim to being between A1 and the basket.

Where do you stop the 5-second count? Give rules reference, please.
I'm ending my count at A to B in that situation.10-6-ART 2.
LGP is lost at that point, so no count unless B1 re-establishes LGP.
I agree......
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 20, 2004, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
And returning to the original question, here's another hypo.

A1 is standing at the top of the key, dribbling, with B1 very closely guarding, and between A1 and the basket. A1 ducks and feints right. As A1 leans right, B1 does also, giving A1 space to lean forward and begin a drive. (a) A1 gets head and shoulders past and (b) steps forward and to the left with the left foot, (c) now having most of her body past B1 toward the basket, B1 still has her back to the basket. (d) Now A1 steps forward with the right foot. B1 begins to turn, but no longer has any claim to being between A1 and the basket.

Where do you stop the 5-second count? Give rules reference, please.
I'm ending my count at A to B in that situation.10-6-ART 2.
LGP is lost at that point, so no count unless B1 re-establishes LGP.
This is how I do it, too, Tim, and BZ. But I don't think the rules reference is very solid. There doesn't seem to be a better one, though.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 20, 2004, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra


You are not guarding if the dribbler is passed you.
Like Camron said, depends on what direction the dribbler is going.

I explained it in an earlier post. The path is TOWARD the basket. A defender that is behind a dribbler moving AWAY from the basket is still in the path to the basket.

Once the ball is in the front court the offense's objective is to score, so a defender is guarding if they are in the path between their opponent and the basket.
Chuck, what I objected to was this post by BZ, where he claims "in the path" is irrelevant compared to being between the dribbler & the basket, specifically when the dribbler is moving AWAY from the basket. I asked him for a rule or case play to back this up. He couldn't. Neither, apparently could you.

That's all.
Nice job of avoiding. I explained it, just the way I BET you'd call it in a game. Go back and read the post that has 4-23-ART 2 and 3 mentioned. If you still can't understand after that, then you are denser than a rock.

THAT'S ALL!
First of all 4-23-2&3 relates to obtaining and maintaing guarding position, not the requirements for a defender to be in a closely guarding position. Try 4-10 and get back to me.

Secondly, why don't you try and be man enough to engage in polite debate without hurling insults. I'm not your big brother or your mom and you wouldn't even know me if I was peeing on your leg so there's no need to come off with that angry teenager sh1t, OK?
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 20, 2004, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
In a play where the dribbler stops and turns back away from the defender, the defender is no longer in the path, but the count does not end, correct?
Can't see what rule basis you have for continuing your count in this case. I've asked you 2 or 3 times to provide one... :shrug:
Ok, I want to pose a situation even simpler than juulie's, Dan. A1 is dribbling the ball near midcourt, closely guarded by B1, who is directly between A1 and Team A's basket. A1 takes three steps forward toward B1. B1 takes three steps backwards, but remains within six feet of A1 and remains between A1 and the basket. Now A1 takes three steps backwards, back toward midcourt, away from (but still facing) his basket. B1 also takes three steps forward so that he is continuously within six feet of A1 and maintains his position between A1 and the basket.

Are you saying that when A1 takes those three steps back, the official should terminate the closely guarded count? And if yes, then is it terminated b/c B1 is no longer in A1's path?

It sounds to me like you're saying that the count is terminated in this situation, but I want to be completely clear on your position on this before I get any more confused.
Let's discuss an even easier play:

A1 takes three steps forward toward B1. B1 takes three steps backwards, but remains within six feet of A1 and remains between A1 and the basket. Now A1 turns his back on B1 and moves toward midcourt, away from (but NOT facing) his basket. B1 also takes three steps forward so that he is continuously within six feet of A1 and maintains his position between A1 and the basket but is not in A1's path.

By rule, what do you do?

Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 20, 2004, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra


You are not guarding if the dribbler is passed you.
Like Camron said, depends on what direction the dribbler is going.

I explained it in an earlier post. The path is TOWARD the basket. A defender that is behind a dribbler moving AWAY from the basket is still in the path to the basket.

Once the ball is in the front court the offense's objective is to score, so a defender is guarding if they are in the path between their opponent and the basket.
Chuck, what I objected to was this post by BZ, where he claims "in the path" is irrelevant compared to being between the dribbler & the basket, specifically when the dribbler is moving AWAY from the basket. I asked him for a rule or case play to back this up. He couldn't. Neither, apparently could you.

That's all.
Nice job of avoiding. I explained it, just the way I BET you'd call it in a game. Go back and read the post that has 4-23-ART 2 and 3 mentioned. If you still can't understand after that, then you are denser than a rock.

THAT'S ALL!
First of all 4-23-2&3 relates to obtaining and maintaing guarding position, not the requirements for a defender to be in a closely guarding position. Try 4-10 and get back to me.

Secondly, why don't you try and be man enough to engage in polite debate without hurling insults. I'm not your big brother or your mom and you wouldn't even know me if I was peeing on your leg so there's no need to come off with that angry teenager sh1t, OK?
You are the one with the condescending,WTF and shrug stuff, remember? You started this , so don't even try to pull the I'm taking the high road stuff.

If you actually read what was said, 4-23 was in reference to parts of the rule book that are unclear HOW the NF want us to call something. When they changed the how to establish LGP rule 4-23 ART 2 to include playing court, not something simple like IN BOUNDS, they failed to spell out that inbound statis needed to be maintained. The rule AS WRITTEN says B1 can move OOB after establishing LGP. The NF had to issue an update to the change. That is what I was talking about, parts of our poorly written rulebook are ambiguous, and PATH is one of those parts.


There are only two ways to view path in closely guarded that make any sense:

1. It has no baring at all.

2. Path is between the player with the ball and the basket.

It is stupid to require a defender to re-establish path on an offensive player heading for a boundary. Do we expect B1 to try to stop A1 from GOING OOB? GOING OVER AND BACK?

There is nothing in the rulebook that says LGP is lost if the offensive player turns away. Path is required to ESTABLISH LGP, but is only lost if the player GETS PAST the defender. 9.10.1 SIT C says, " As soon as B1 has assummed a guarding position, both feet on the floor, facing the opponent, no other specific requirement is in effect. The amount of movement or THE ACTUAL BODY POSITION of the player is irrelevant. Not really clear, like a lot of what we have to go by, but it will do from my end.
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 20, 2004, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
You are the one with the condescending,WTF and shrug stuff, remember? You started this , so don't even try to pull the I'm taking the high road stuff.

If you actually read what was said, 4-23 was in reference to parts of the rule book that are unclear HOW the NF want us to call something. When they changed the how to establish LGP rule 4-23 ART 2 to include playing court, not something simple like IN BOUNDS, they failed to spell out that inbound statis needed to be maintained. The rule AS WRITTEN says B1 can move OOB after establishing LGP. The NF had to issue an update to the change. That is what I was talking about, parts of our poorly written rulebook are ambiguous, and PATH is one of those parts.


There are only two ways to view path in closely guarded that make any sense:

1. It has no baring at all.

2. Path is between the player with the ball and the basket.

It is stupid to require a defender to re-establish path on an offensive player heading for a boundary. Do we expect B1 to try to stop A1 from GOING OOB? GOING OVER AND BACK? [/B]
BZ -- you're over-reacting a little to Dan, I think. He's not being hostile or confrontive, just grumpy and codger-ish.

And the fact of the matter is that you are absolutely right about the book: it isn't at all well written. What it comes down to is your opinion, my opinion or someone else's opinion. There's no grounds for slinging insults at Dan when he's interpreting things a little differently.

Basically, logic goes out the window when anyone tries to nail down this situation. There aren't any solid, well-thought-through "Supreme Court decisions" for us to build on.

I'm pleased that this discussion is happening. Perhaps the NF will realize that another clarification is needed, and give us something a little more definitive in the near future.
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 20, 2004, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
B1 also takes three steps forward so that he is continuously within six feet of A1 and maintains his position between A1 and the basket but is not in A1's path.

By rule, what do you do?
Dan, seems to me your situation begs the question. The real question here is whether or not B1 is in A1's path. This whole thread boils down to: Does "in the path" mean "in the direction the dribbler is moving" or does it mean "directly between the dribbler and the basket"?

That's why I worded my question so that the only thing that changed was the dribbler's direction. So (and I hope you realize that I'm not trying to be snippy), I guess I'd still like to hear your answer to my situation. If the dribbler merely backs up, do you discontinue your count?

To play fair, I'll answer your question point blank. I would continue my count, even if the defender turns his back and moves away from the basket.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 20, 2004, 03:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
You are the one with the condescending,WTF and shrug stuff, remember? You started this , so don't even try to pull the I'm taking the high road stuff.

If you actually read what was said, 4-23 was in reference to parts of the rule book that are unclear HOW the NF want us to call something. When they changed the how to establish LGP rule 4-23 ART 2 to include playing court, not something simple like IN BOUNDS, they failed to spell out that inbound statis needed to be maintained. The rule AS WRITTEN says B1 can move OOB after establishing LGP. The NF had to issue an update to the change. That is what I was talking about, parts of our poorly written rulebook are ambiguous, and PATH is one of those parts.


There are only two ways to view path in closely guarded that make any sense:

1. It has no baring at all.

2. Path is between the player with the ball and the basket.

It is stupid to require a defender to re-establish path on an offensive player heading for a boundary. Do we expect B1 to try to stop A1 from GOING OOB? GOING OVER AND BACK?
BZ -- you're over-reacting a little to Dan, I think. He's not being hostile or confrontive, just grumpy and codger-ish.

And the fact of the matter is that you are absolutely right about the book: it isn't at all well written. What it comes down to is your opinion, my opinion or someone else's opinion. There's no grounds for slinging insults at Dan when he's interpreting things a little differently.

Basically, logic goes out the window when anyone tries to nail down this situation. There aren't any solid, well-thought-through "Supreme Court decisions" for us to build on.

I'm pleased that this discussion is happening. Perhaps the NF will realize that another clarification is needed, and give us something a little more definitive in the near future. [/B]
I don't think I over-reacted at all. You don't find writing, " How about a rule to back that up, I guess you can't...shrug," comfrontive and condescending? I do.

I explained why I felt that path was not clearly defined in the rule reguarding closely guarded several times. He chose to keep the what's the rule, shrug, WTF stuff up.

He even threw it at Chuck when Chuck said he understood the point I was making.

Sometimes we need to use common sense to interpret the rule book; stressing a poorly written rule book word for word, if that interpretation is completely illogical, does a disservice to the players we our officiating.
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 20, 2004, 05:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Well, okay, perhaps what you see as confrontive is different from what feels that way to me.

I'm saying, if the book is poorly written, and you're agreeing it is, then neither you nor he can say that you've got the right interp, and the other doesn't. There's no way to know. Common sense may seem like the best choice for now, but what's common sense for you may be different from what's common sense for me. And what may seem completely illogical to you may seem like the best logic to Dan. And vice versa. Logic has to be based on assumptions, and when those assumptions aren't held in common, you can't use logic as the best arguemnet.

I mean, the reason I started this thread is because I couldn't see any grounds for what I had been doing, nor for what a coach wanted me to do. There simply is not any established authoritative position. It's a very sticky wicket for everyone.
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 20, 2004, 09:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra


You are not guarding if the dribbler is passed you.
Like Camron said, depends on what direction the dribbler is going.

I explained it in an earlier post. The path is TOWARD the basket. A defender that is behind a dribbler moving AWAY from the basket is still in the path to the basket.

Once the ball is in the front court the offense's objective is to score, so a defender is guarding if they are in the path between their opponent and the basket.
Chuck, what I objected to was this post by BZ, where he claims "in the path" is irrelevant compared to being between the dribbler & the basket, specifically when the dribbler is moving AWAY from the basket. I asked him for a rule or case play to back this up. He couldn't. Neither, apparently could you.

That's all.
Nice job of avoiding. I explained it, just the way I BET you'd call it in a game. Go back and read the post that has 4-23-ART 2 and 3 mentioned. If you still can't understand after that, then you are denser than a rock.

THAT'S ALL!
First of all 4-23-2&3 relates to obtaining and maintaing guarding position, not the requirements for a defender to be in a closely guarding position. Try 4-10 and get back to me.

Secondly, why don't you try and be man enough to engage in polite debate without hurling insults. I'm not your big brother or your mom and you wouldn't even know me if I was peeing on your leg so there's no need to come off with that angry teenager sh1t, OK?
You are the one with the condescending,WTF and shrug stuff, remember? You started this , so don't even try to pull the I'm taking the high road stuff.

If you actually read what was said, 4-23 was in reference to parts of the rule book that are unclear HOW the NF want us to call something. When they changed the how to establish LGP rule 4-23 ART 2 to include playing court, not something simple like IN BOUNDS, they failed to spell out that inbound statis needed to be maintained. The rule AS WRITTEN says B1 can move OOB after establishing LGP. The NF had to issue an update to the change. That is what I was talking about, parts of our poorly written rulebook are ambiguous, and PATH is one of those parts.


There are only two ways to view path in closely guarded that make any sense:

1. It has no baring at all.

2. Path is between the player with the ball and the basket.

It is stupid to require a defender to re-establish path on an offensive player heading for a boundary. Do we expect B1 to try to stop A1 from GOING OOB? GOING OVER AND BACK?

There is nothing in the rulebook that says LGP is lost if the offensive player turns away. Path is required to ESTABLISH LGP, but is only lost if the player GETS PAST the defender. 9.10.1 SIT C says, " As soon as B1 has assummed a guarding position, both feet on the floor, facing the opponent, no other specific requirement is in effect. The amount of movement or THE ACTUAL BODY POSITION of the player is irrelevant. Not really clear, like a lot of what we have to go by, but it will do from my end.
2 things junior:

- LGP necessary but not sufficient for a defender to be considered closely guarding. 4-10.

- It's bearing, not baring.
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 20, 2004, 09:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
B1 also takes three steps forward so that he is continuously within six feet of A1 and maintains his position between A1 and the basket but is not in A1's path.

By rule, what do you do?
Dan, seems to me your situation begs the question. The real question here is whether or not B1 is in A1's path. This whole thread boils down to: Does "in the path" mean "in the direction the dribbler is moving" or does it mean "directly between the dribbler and the basket"?

That's why I worded my question so that the only thing that changed was the dribbler's direction. So (and I hope you realize that I'm not trying to be snippy), I guess I'd still like to hear your answer to my situation. If the dribbler merely backs up, do you discontinue your count?

To play fair, I'll answer your question point blank. I would continue my count, even if the defender turns his back and moves away from the basket.
Well. For being one of the few people on the planet who understand how to correctly use "beg the question" I will buy you the beverage of your choice down at the Wagon Wheel (or whatever that place is down the hill). Luckily diet coke is cheap.

Now, to anwser your question...sort of.

What I call or do not call is not relevant. Fact is the rule book states in the path. And it's not qualified by a case play. Fed or NCAA.

Quote:
http://www.cogsci.princeton.edu/cgi-...ge=1&word=path
path, track, course -- (a line or route along which something travels or moves; "the hurricane demolished houses in its path"; "the track of an animal"; "the course of the river")
Not easy for me to see how "path", without a special definition within the rules, conforms to your liberal interpretation. Kinda depends on what the definition of is is.

BTW, if A1 turns his back to B1 & dribbles away from the basket no way in hell I'm going to call 5 seconds.


Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 20, 2004, 09:34pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
BTW, if A1 turns his back to B1 & dribbles away from the basket no way in hell I'm going to call 5 seconds.
Dan,
What if A1, holding the ball, turns his back to B1?
There is no path at all?
mick
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 20, 2004, 09:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
BTW, if A1 turns his back to B1 & dribbles away from the basket no way in hell I'm going to call 5 seconds.
Dan,
What if A1, holding the ball, turns his back to B1?
There is no path at all?
mick
C'mon Mick.

If A1 while holding the ball establishes a path we have a travel.
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 20, 2004, 10:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra


You are not guarding if the dribbler is passed you.
Like Camron said, depends on what direction the dribbler is going.

I explained it in an earlier post. The path is TOWARD the basket. A defender that is behind a dribbler moving AWAY from the basket is still in the path to the basket.

Once the ball is in the front court the offense's objective is to score, so a defender is guarding if they are in the path between their opponent and the basket.
Chuck, what I objected to was this post by BZ, where he claims "in the path" is irrelevant compared to being between the dribbler & the basket, specifically when the dribbler is moving AWAY from the basket. I asked him for a rule or case play to back this up. He couldn't. Neither, apparently could you.

That's all.
Nice job of avoiding. I explained it, just the way I BET you'd call it in a game. Go back and read the post that has 4-23-ART 2 and 3 mentioned. If you still can't understand after that, then you are denser than a rock.

THAT'S ALL!
First of all 4-23-2&3 relates to obtaining and maintaing guarding position, not the requirements for a defender to be in a closely guarding position. Try 4-10 and get back to me.

Secondly, why don't you try and be man enough to engage in polite debate without hurling insults. I'm not your big brother or your mom and you wouldn't even know me if I was peeing on your leg so there's no need to come off with that angry teenager sh1t, OK?
You are the one with the condescending,WTF and shrug stuff, remember? You started this , so don't even try to pull the I'm taking the high road stuff.

If you actually read what was said, 4-23 was in reference to parts of the rule book that are unclear HOW the NF want us to call something. When they changed the how to establish LGP rule 4-23 ART 2 to include playing court, not something simple like IN BOUNDS, they failed to spell out that inbound statis needed to be maintained. The rule AS WRITTEN says B1 can move OOB after establishing LGP. The NF had to issue an update to the change. That is what I was talking about, parts of our poorly written rulebook are ambiguous, and PATH is one of those parts.


There are only two ways to view path in closely guarded that make any sense:

1. It has no baring at all.

2. Path is between the player with the ball and the basket.

It is stupid to require a defender to re-establish path on an offensive player heading for a boundary. Do we expect B1 to try to stop A1 from GOING OOB? GOING OVER AND BACK?

There is nothing in the rulebook that says LGP is lost if the offensive player turns away. Path is required to ESTABLISH LGP, but is only lost if the player GETS PAST the defender. 9.10.1 SIT C says, " As soon as B1 has assummed a guarding position, both feet on the floor, facing the opponent, no other specific requirement is in effect. The amount of movement or THE ACTUAL BODY POSITION of the player is irrelevant. Not really clear, like a lot of what we have to go by, but it will do from my end.
2 things junior:

- LGP necessary but not sufficient for a defender to be considered closely guarding. 4-10.

- It's bearing, not baring.
The sign of a lost arguement; needing to focus on a typo.

And 4-10 requires guarding, guarding is defined in 4-23 and no where in 4-23 does it say LGP is lost if A1 turns away.

By your interp, A1 can pivot for 8 full minutes and never reach a 5 second count. All they have to do is turn away from B1. Can't you see how stupid that sounds?
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 20, 2004, 10:58pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
By your interp, A1 can pivot for 8 full minutes and never reach a 5 second count. All they have to do is turn away from B1. Can't you see how stupid that sounds?
blindzebra,

Is one of your legs, by now, longer than the other?
mick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1