Thread: Closely Guarded
View Single Post
  #52 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 20, 2004, 03:51pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
B1 also takes three steps forward so that he is continuously within six feet of A1 and maintains his position between A1 and the basket but is not in A1's path.

By rule, what do you do?
Dan, seems to me your situation begs the question. The real question here is whether or not B1 is in A1's path. This whole thread boils down to: Does "in the path" mean "in the direction the dribbler is moving" or does it mean "directly between the dribbler and the basket"?

That's why I worded my question so that the only thing that changed was the dribbler's direction. So (and I hope you realize that I'm not trying to be snippy), I guess I'd still like to hear your answer to my situation. If the dribbler merely backs up, do you discontinue your count?

To play fair, I'll answer your question point blank. I would continue my count, even if the defender turns his back and moves away from the basket.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote