The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 10, 2001, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,245
Quote:
Originally posted by ilya
yesterday in that game (seton hall vs ND), do you think there was acutally a charge on one of the last plays???
i didn't think so.
the player was still moving. one of his feet was in the air, and they still called a charge on ND!
oh and as for carries, iverson makes me wonder about the rules sometimes...
Didn't see the play, so I can't comment directly, Ilya, but the facts that the player was still moving and had one foot in the air do not preclude a "charge" call. As long as "initial guarding position" is obtained (both feet on floor, facing opponent), the defense can then move to maintain this position, or turn to absorb the shock of contact, etc.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1