The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 05, 2004, 02:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Jimgolf
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Jimgolf
However, IMHO, it fits all the definitions of dribbling and should be officiated accordingly.
Unfortunately, there is no current rule that will support you. The definition of a dribble says that a player IN CONTROL pushes or bats the ball TO the floor-rule 4-15-1. There is NO player control involved while you're pushing a ball ALONG the floor.
Why is there NO player control? Player control includes when the player is dribbling. To say that he is not dribbling because he doesn't have control is circular logic. There is player control because the player is dribbling. There is no player control because the player is not dribbling. This is the point of the whole argument.
Jim, the definition of "dribbling" says that you haveta push the ball TO the floor. In this case, the ball is ALREADY on the floor when you push it ALONG the floor. Circular logic isn't involved at all here because a dribble isn't ever involved, by rule or definition. They're two completely different situations here.
JR, but what about a player holding the ball who releases it to the floor with an underhanded push and rolls it, that does meet the definition of starting a dribble IMO.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1