Quote:
Originally posted by Jimgolf
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Jimgolf
However, IMHO, it fits all the definitions of dribbling and should be officiated accordingly.
|
Unfortunately, there is no current rule that will support you. The definition of a dribble says that a player IN CONTROL pushes or bats the ball TO the floor-rule 4-15-1. There is NO player control involved while you're pushing a ball ALONG the floor.
|
Why is there NO player control? Player control includes when the player is dribbling. To say that he is not dribbling because he doesn't have control is circular logic. There is player control because the player is dribbling. There is no player control because the player is not dribbling. This is the point of the whole argument.
|
Jim, the definition of "dribbling" says that you haveta push the ball TO the floor. In this case, the ball is ALREADY on the floor when you push it ALONG the floor. Circular logic isn't involved at all here because a dribble isn't ever involved, by rule or definition. They're two completely different situations here.