The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Dec 20, 2000, 05:35pm
Official Forum Member

Question

This is my concern. We are in need of officials in our area. I normally get a least one or two new recruits a year. My first year...... I recruited two and they both dropped out. They stated the so called "Varsity officials" did not make them feel welcome!
The next year..... Recruited one.... same end result, and basically the same reason.
This season I'm 50-50. I have one that is sticking around.
Despite the same feeling!
I ran into the same brickwall when I arrived!

How do you all treat the newcomers?

AK ref SE
Old Wed Dec 20, 2000, 08:12pm
Official Forum Member

Wink

I know what you are saying and it is very true many times.I am in my fourth year and if I hadn't already done another sport I would have quit my first year.I had a veteran official tell me before my first or second game that I better cover my lines and make all my calls because he was tired of carrying new officials!I do my best to help new officials and make them feel welcome and ii sure hope none of us forget where we came from.By the way that bitter veteran quit after that year.
Old Wed Dec 20, 2000, 10:45pm
Do not give a damn!!

Unhappy I would love to blame veterans for this, but.....

I really cannot. I think that in my state, if these schools do not change their ways, new people will never want to do basketball or any sport for that matter. If we cannot get paid for at the time we do the game, how are people going to be able to support this habit we all call officiating. I still have not gotten checks from games that I did for football season. I try to use my officiating money to pay for gas and any other expenses I need. If school districts want to treat us different than any other citizen that does a job for them, then they need to officiate their own games. But this is my opinion.
Old Wed Dec 20, 2000, 10:50pm