The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 14, 1999, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 83
Post

Joe wrote: In this special case, they get a technical foul, but that does NOT buy them a time-out.

I disagree. Case 5.11.4A, Ruling: "The time-out is granted and results in a technical foul." So, they do get the benefit of the time-out.

Rule 5-12-4 and Case 5.12.4A just explain when the additional time-outs become available for use.

Mark wrote: I told him during the timout I disagreed, and that he should have ignored it, since the other team was in team control at the time (holding ball to inbound on spot throwin).

Mark, you were right (except that there is no team control during a throw-in). Excess time-outs should be granted and treated just like regular time-outs, except that they are bought with a technical foul. However, once your partner erroneously granted the team not in control of the ball the time-out, that time-out, once granted, cannot be revoked and will be bought with a T. (5.8.3E)

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1