Joe wrote: In this special case, they get a technical foul, but that does NOT buy them a time-out.
I disagree. Case 5.11.4A, Ruling: "The time-out is granted and results in a technical foul." So, they do get the benefit of the time-out.
Rule 5-12-4 and Case 5.12.4A just explain when the additional time-outs become available for use.
Mark wrote: I told him during the timout I disagreed, and that he should have ignored it, since the other team was in team control at the time (holding ball to inbound on spot throwin).
Mark, you were right (except that there is no team control during a throw-in). Excess time-outs should be granted and treated just like regular time-outs, except that they are bought with a technical foul. However, once your partner erroneously granted the team not in control of the ball the time-out, that time-out, once granted, cannot be revoked and will be bought with a T. (5.8.3E)
|