The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 16, 1999, 03:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 12
Send a message via ICQ to SportsPlayByPlay
Post

When I was reading other scenarios in other threads, it made me think of a good scenario which I really had never thought about, maybe you all could help me. Here it is:

A-1 in backcourt, while trying to break a full-court press, attempts a pass to A-2, who is in the frontcourt. Meanwhile, B-1, who is also in the frontcourt, deflects the pass. The ball then bounces back into the backcourt where A-3 picks it up and again tries to break the full-court press.

Officials call: The first 10-second count is nullified and a new one would begin as the ball returned to the backcourt.

Is this correct? Take into consideration the rule we have clarified in previous threads. Team A never lost team control of the ball. My feeling is that since Team A did have the ball in the frontcourt, even though it was momentary, then a new 10-second count should begin once the ball bounces back into the backcourt. Is this the right call? I think it is a good question that, to tell you the truth, I am second-guessing myself. What do you all think?

=============================
Zachary "Chunk" McCrite
Indiana High School Officials
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1