The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2003, 10:27am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by WinterWillie

Rule Reference NFHS 9-11-1 states that basket interference occurs when a player...touches the ball or basket, (including the net), when the ball is on or within either basket. There is no mention of the backboard. My interpretation of this rule would make the backboard part of the basket, thereby making the striking of the backboard while the ball is on the rim, basket interference, that maybe subject to debate.
No debate. Your interpretation is 100% wrong. The backboard is NOT part of the basket. See rule 1-10-1. It defines exactly what the basket is - i.e. the ring,it's flange and braces, and the net.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1