Quote:
Originally posted by WinterWillie
There is a gaping hole in the rules on this one. If the ball is on the rim and a player unintentionally touches the net, you've got BI. In a hypothetical, if the ball is on the rim and a defensive player unintentionally strikes the backboard causing the rim to vibrate, you've got nothing. Does that seem fair to you? As my old buddy Spike Barruth says when I ask him about being fair, "Every dunk in college ball is a technical foul, but does anyone call it."
|
#1: There is no gaping hole in the rule...you might not like the rule, but that's the way it goes. And if you would seriously call a T for unintentionally touching the net, then there are bigger problems here than disagreeing with a rule.
#2: whether it is fair or not makes no difference...call it correctly - just ask Bobby Knight and Ted Valentine about that rule...would be a fun conversation to eavesdrop on...
#3: Who is Spike Barruth, and why is he giving you such bad advice on rules about dunking???