Thread: BI or GT
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 12, 2003, 10:27am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by WinterWillie

Rule Reference NFHS 9-11-1 states that basket interference occurs when a player...touches the ball or basket, (including the net), when the ball is on or within either basket. There is no mention of the backboard. My interpretation of this rule would make the backboard part of the basket, thereby making the striking of the backboard while the ball is on the rim, basket interference, that maybe subject to debate.
No debate. Your interpretation is 100% wrong. The backboard is NOT part of the basket. See rule 1-10-1. It defines exactly what the basket is - i.e. the ring,it's flange and braces, and the net.
Reply With Quote