The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 03, 2003, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by sleebo
It would seem to me that if the ball comes to rest on the body (in a hand, against the stomach, knee, hip, etc.) and the dribbler then puts the ball on the floor for another dribble, you have illegal ("double") dribble.
Reference (for other than "in a hand"), please.

I think this is more a spirit of the rules thing.

For example, A1, who has been dribbling, pins the ball between his elbows, between an arm and hip, etc. The book doesn't say this ends the dribble. In fact, the player, by the written rule, could hold it that way indefinitely (ignoring counts and expiration time) and legally resume dribbling since only the hands are mentioned in ending a dribble.

In reality, I think every single one of us would call an illegal dribble if such a thing occured since we know that such a play is not what was intended.

In nearly every case, however, a hand will be involved.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1