The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #91 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 19, 2003, 06:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
if you have a comic book, look at page page 49.
They show, in the right hand picture, a player (three times) in motion.
  • 1. dribbling the sideline
  • 2. stepping on the mine and not touching the ball
  • 3. again, dribbling on the court, but away from the sideline.

    Using your suggested interpretation, no retouch required, the third picture would be uncessary.
  • Thanks, mick. I got the picture. And now, I can at least see how you could interpret it the way you do. And now, I also agree completely with you. The third picture is uncessary; I mean, unnecessary.

    Bob and Tony seem to have the same interp that I do. I can live with that.
    __________________
    Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
    Reply With Quote
      #92 (permalink)  
    Old Wed Nov 19, 2003, 08:29am
    In Memoriam
     
    Join Date: Nov 1999
    Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
    Posts: 9,953
    Quote:
    Originally posted by BktBallRef

    You call the violation when the player steps OOB, not when he touches the ball again. Look at the picture onn the left.

    If you don't believe me or Chuck, surely you believe Bob Jenkins.
    Quote:
    Originally posted by edred
    1. A1 Dribbling along side line, ball is not in hand, steps on line, does not touch ball again, a2 picks up ball, did a1 cause a violation.
    I have offered mechanically similar scenarios, definitions of ball location, dribble, player location, ... a picture.
    I offer consistency of ruling.

    What do I get? ...The recitation of merely a poorly written note to a written rule which requires additional exceptions in order to tie the rules together, ... and "Just cuz".
    "Just Cuz" and "Just is' are baseball rules.

    I await the retouch.
    And don't call me Shirley.

    mick
    Reply With Quote
      #93 (permalink)  
    Old Wed Nov 19, 2003, 08:40am
    In Memoriam
     
    Join Date: Nov 1999
    Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
    Posts: 9,953
    Quote:
    Originally posted by ChuckElias
    Quote:
    Originally posted by mick
    if you have a comic book, look at page page 49.
    They show, in the right hand picture, a player (three times) in motion.
  • 1. dribbling the sideline
  • 2. stepping on the mine and not touching the ball
  • 3. again, dribbling on the court, but away from the sideline.

    Using your suggested interpretation, no retouch required, the third picture would be uncessary.
  • Thanks, mick. I got the picture. And now, I can at least see how you could interpret it the way you do. And now, I also agree completely with you. The third picture is uncessary; I mean, unnecessary.

    Bob and Tony seem to have the same interp that I do. I can live with that.
    [pick one or more]
    It was dark and I couldn't see my fingers.
    --or--
    I can't spell good.
    --or--
    The letters were uncessary.
    --or--
    Just cuz.

    mick
    Reply With Quote
      #94 (permalink)  
    Old Wed Nov 19, 2003, 09:02am
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 1999
    Posts: 18,182
    Quote:
    Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
    Quote:
    Originally posted by bob jenkins
    Play: Dribbler A1 steps on the OOB line, but doesn't retouch the ball. Despite Coach B's howls, Mick lets play continue and explains A1 wasn't a dribbler unless he retouched the ball.

    Late in the game, A leads by 1 with time running out. B1 obtains legal guarding position on dribbler A1. A1 runs into B1, B1 is knocked to the floor and the ball bounces away without being retouched by A1. Mick blows his whistle just as the horn sounds.

    If A1 steps on the OOB line just before he charges into B1,but he's not touching the ball when he stepped on the line or when the contact occurs, are you gonna just call an immediate OOB violation on A1, Bob, and ignore the charge as being incidental contact during a dead ball?

    Not me, I'm calling a PC foul.

    If A1 travels just before he charges into B1, are you going to call the travel or the charge?

    Reply With Quote
      #95 (permalink)  
    Old Wed Nov 19, 2003, 09:16am
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 2001
    Location: Western Mass.
    Posts: 9,105
    Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
    Quote:
    Originally posted by bob jenkins
    If A1 travels just before he charges into B1, are you going to call the travel or the charge?
    Is A1's hand in contact with the ball at the time of the charge?
    __________________
    Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
    Reply With Quote
      #96 (permalink)  
    Old Wed Nov 19, 2003, 01:52pm
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 1999
    Location: In the offseason.
    Posts: 12,263
    In that funny book triad, the third pane is just giving a play example. It is not saying the retouch is required to have a violation.


    Bob's example regarding a PC foul and a dribbler hits the nail right on the head. The PC foul, like the OOB violation, doesn't depend on what happens next. The player is a dribbler or is not a dribblre. The player is in or they are out. If they are a dribbler and step OOB, it is a violation that instant.

    If the player steps out before contact (as was suggested in a related case), I'm certainly calling OOB and ignoring the subsequent train wreck.

    [Edited by Camron Rust on Nov 19th, 2003 at 12:54 PM]
    Reply With Quote
      #97 (permalink)  
    Old Wed Nov 19, 2003, 02:01pm
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 2001
    Location: Western Mass.
    Posts: 9,105
    Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
    Quote:
    Originally posted by Camron Rust
    The player is a dribbler (FED rules) or is not a dribblre. (FIBA rules)
    __________________
    Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
    Reply With Quote
      #98 (permalink)  
    Old Wed Nov 19, 2003, 02:09pm
    In Memoriam
     
    Join Date: Nov 1999
    Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
    Posts: 9,953
    Post Exceptions required

    Quote:
    Originally posted by Camron Rust

    Bob's example regarding a PC foul and a dribbler hits the nail right on the head. The PC foul, like the OOB violation, doesn't depend on what happens next. The player is a dribbler or is not a dribblre. The player is in or they are out. If they are a dribbler and step OOB, it is a violation that instant.
    ...the foul killed the ball as it does in all instances of called fouls, but stepping on a line without the ball is always okay. " ...except for that funny little Note.

    mick
    Reply With Quote
      #99 (permalink)  
    Old Wed Nov 19, 2003, 06:02pm
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Feb 2000
    Posts: 2,217
    Cool I made the original call on this play

    I was a month early on this one - and at least two pages shy on my intellectual responses estimate. But the nail was struck fairly close to center of the head.

    http://www.officialforum.com/thread/10367

    Quote:
    Originally posted by Hawks Coach
    I love this one!
    Always stirs up a bit of a debate. But I agree, you have an interrupted dribble, therefore no violation. I am just waiting for the what ifs to begin on this thread, then 5 pages of intellectual discussion


    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks


    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is On
    Trackbacks are On
    Pingbacks are On
    Refbacks are On



    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13am.



    Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1