The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2003, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Re: Re: Re: On track

Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
A1 dribbling down sideline towards B1. As B1 reaches in A1 steps OOB before B1 cleanly steals the ball off the dribble - note A1 is OOB but has yet to touch the ball. B1 is now heading down court for an easy layup, you blow the whistle for OOB?
By rule, I really think the ball is dead as soon as A1 touches OOB, which in your scenario is before B1 makes the steal. So the "ugliness" factor of blowing the whistle while B1 is "heading down court for an easy layup" is not a factor in the play.
Quote:
RULE 9 SECTION 3 OUT OF BOUNDS
A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds.
Question - The dribbler steps on or outside a boundary, but does not touch the ball while he or she is out of bounds. Is this a violation? Answer - Yes.
IMO this accounts for the dribbler who alternates a step OOB with the actual touch of the ball during the dribble and does not adress my play at all.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2003, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,474
Yes, This is the point

Although your changes of the scenario were not too subtle... Chuck has again shown the exact point of the rule.

NOTE: The dribbler has committed a violaiton if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.

It says nothing about retouching. It says nothing about loosing the ball. It says nothing about interrupted dribble. IT JUST SAYS THE DRIBBLER HAS VIOLATED IF HE STEPS ON A LINE. So the question again is "Is he still a dribbler when he steps on a line - even though he is going to make a decision here in a split second and say "Hey, I don't want to dribble anymore." It is still the same question WAS THIS GUY A DRIBBLER WHEN HE STEPPED ON THE LINE? Obviously, if the answer is YES, then this is a violation.

Now also obviously, these other nitwit scenarios that some of you keep coming up with ... he is no longer a dribbler after B1 has stolen the ball, or after he has slapped it back towards the court and fallen out of bounds, or tripped on his shoelace and fallen on the line as the ball bounces away - even if the wind is blowing from the west and it is a Thursday morning and the other team has Wilt Chamberlin playing. No violation in these scenarios.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2003, 12:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Re: Yes, This is the point

Quote:
Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown

Now also obviously, these other nitwit scenarios that some of you keep coming up with ...
nitwit?

Interesting debating style you have.

BTW, **** you.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 18, 2003, 12:31pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
By that definition, a player inside the endline could throw a long bounce pass (starting a dribble) toward his basket and his momentum could cause him to step on his near endline, and you would call an out-of-bounds violation when he stepped on that line regardless of what the ball was doing.
No way, mick. A long bounce pass may be the start of a dribble, but it is not necessarily a dribble. If it were, then we would have double dribble violations every time a player ended his dribble and then threw a bounce pass. Your scenario above does not fit the conclusion you want to draw. use maybe, assumed, presumed or imagine, ...not necessarily works, too.

Quote:
Likewise, a previous thread scenario:
  • Let's have a player fast breaking down court and catching a pass. He takes two dribbles and loses his balance (I dunno,... cramp, shoelace, coordination), but he leaves the ball on the court before he steps on the line, or over the line. He is now outa play and watching 9 guys go after the ball possibly from the seat of his shorts.
  • This is obviously an interrupted dribble, which is why the ball is not OOB. The dribbler didn't step out in that scenario. not interrupted because it was intentionally left on the floor

    Quote:
    We ain't callin' him for a violation.
    No retouch ---> no violation.
    mick
    I see your point, I just think it's wrong. Here's the rule Camron posted, and I don't see how there's any real debate about it:

    RULE 9 SECTION 3 OUT OF BOUNDS
    A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds.
    Question - The dribbler steps on or outside a boundary, but does not touch the ball while he or she is out of bounds. Is this a violation? Answer - Yes.

    Again, my two cents, but I don't see how there can be this much debate about it.
    mick
    Reply With Quote
      #5 (permalink)  
    Old Tue Nov 18, 2003, 12:38pm
    In Memoriam
     
    Join Date: Nov 1999
    Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
    Posts: 9,953
    Re: Yes, This is the point

    Quote:
    Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
    Now also obviously, these other nitwit scenarios that some of you keep coming up with ... he is no longer a dribbler after B1 has stolen the ball, or after he has slapped it back towards the court and fallen out of bounds, or tripped on his shoelace and fallen on the line as the ball bounces away ...
    Interesting commentary.
    Thank you for your reply.
    I now understand your interpretation.
    mick
    Reply With Quote
      #6 (permalink)  
    Old Tue Nov 18, 2003, 01:06pm
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Oct 2002
    Location: Idaho
    Posts: 1,474
    Talking It slipped, sorry. No offense intended.

    And your responses or debating styles are to ignore the question or change the scenario again so that we can eventually come to your answer?

    Sorry for the use of the word "nitwit" but the scenarios you guys keep posing have an obvious answer, that I have reiterated again and again. Those are not violations. You are right!

    Yet you keep telling me that the only way you would call OOB is if the dribbler retouches the ball. Rule 9-3 tells me the violation has ocurred BEFORE the dribbler retouches or continues to dribble. Maybe I'm using the wrong ear but I haven't heard justification to say the dribbler must retouch the ball before an OOB violation has ocurred.
    __________________
    "There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
    Reply With Quote
      #7 (permalink)  
    Old Tue Nov 18, 2003, 01:26pm
    In Memoriam
     
    Join Date: Aug 2001
    Location: Hell
    Posts: 20,211
    Quote:
    Originally posted by ChuckElias
    [/B]
    I see your point, I just think it's wrong. Here's the rule Camron posted, and I don't see how there's any real debate about it:

    RULE 9 SECTION 3 OUT OF BOUNDS
    A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds.
    Question - The dribbler steps on or outside a boundary, but does not touch the ball while he or she is out of bounds. Is this a violation? Answer - Yes.

    Again, my two cents, but I don't see how there can be this much debate about it. [/B][/QUOTE]Touching the ball again immediately after being OOB and then coming back in-bounds is the violation,and that is what R9-3 is telling you.If the player NEVER DOES TOUCH THE BALL after stepping OOB, then what particular violation in the rulebook then covers the play? R9-3 doesn't. The player has NEVER caused the ball to go OOB if he ends his dribble by NOT touching the ball again AFTER going OOB.Please find me a rule that says different.
    Reply With Quote
      #8 (permalink)  
    Old Tue Nov 18, 2003, 01:43pm
    In Memoriam
     
    Join Date: Aug 2001
    Location: Hell
    Posts: 20,211
    Quote:
    Originally posted by Dan_ref
    Quote:
    Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown

    Now also obviously, these other nitwit scenarios that some of you keep coming up with ...
    nitwit?

    Interesting debating style you have.

    BTW, **** you.

    I'm leaving with Elvis now.
    Reply With Quote
      #9 (permalink)  
    Old Tue Nov 18, 2003, 01:55pm
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 1999
    Location: In the offseason.
    Posts: 12,263
    Quote:
    Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
    Quote:
    Originally posted by ChuckElias
    I see your point, I just think it's wrong. Here's the rule Camron posted, and I don't see how there's any real debate about it:

    RULE 9 SECTION 3 OUT OF BOUNDS
    A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds.
    Question - The dribbler steps on or outside a boundary, but does not touch the ball while he or she is out of bounds. Is this a violation? Answer - Yes.

    Again, my two cents, but I don't see how there can be this much debate about it. [/B]
    Touching the ball again immediately after being OOB and then coming back in-bounds is the violation,and that is what R9-3 is telling you.If the player NEVER DOES TOUCH THE BALL after stepping OOB, then what particular violation in the rulebook then covers the play? R9-3 doesn't. The player has NEVER caused the ball to go OOB if he ends his dribble by NOT touching the ball again AFTER going OOB.Please find me a rule that says different. [/B][/QUOTE]

    R9-3Q doesn't mention anything about coming back in and touching it. It says that the instant A1 steps on the line, it is a violation if A1 is a dribbler. If the player choses to end their dribble by not touching it again after touching OOB, it's too late. THey have already violated.
    Reply With Quote
      #10 (permalink)  
    Old Tue Nov 18, 2003, 02:49pm
    In Memoriam
     
    Join Date: Nov 1999
    Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
    Posts: 9,953
    Quote:
    Originally posted by Camron Rust
    R9-3Q doesn't mention anything about coming back in and touching it. It says that the instant A1 steps on the line, it is a violation if A1 is a dribbler. If the player choses to end their dribble by not touching it again after touching OOB, it's too late. THey have already violated.

    None of that stuff is in my book,
    ...but I can imagine it is.
    Reply With Quote
      #11 (permalink)  
    Old Tue Nov 18, 2003, 02:57pm
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Jul 2003
    Location: Irving, Texas
    Posts: 675
    My logic, right or wrong, leads me to think that this rule was written to prevent a player from stepping out of bounds while dribbling, whether the player is out of bounds at the time the player is touching the ball or not.

    My view:
    A dribble occurs when the ball goes from the hand(s) to the floor and back up to a hand again. If the ball does not return to the hand after bouncing off the floor, I think it is reasonable to determine the dribble ended after the last legal dribble. I would require the player retouch the ball after having stepped OOB to judge the player as still dribbling, then whistle a violation.



    __________________
    - SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
    Reply With Quote
      #12 (permalink)  
    Old Tue Nov 18, 2003, 03:00pm
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 2001
    Location: Western Mass.
    Posts: 9,105
    Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
    Quote:
    Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
    Touching the ball again immediately after being OOB and then coming back in-bounds is the violation,and that is what R9-3 is telling you.
    None of that stuff is in my book. . .
    but I can imagine that it is. :shrug:

    Quote:
    If the player NEVER DOES TOUCH THE BALL after stepping OOB, then what particular violation in the rulebook then covers the play? R9-3 doesn't.
    This is our fundamental difference of opinion. I think the question in 9-3 covers it precisely. That question doesn't ask about what happens when the dribbler touches the ball after being OOB. It asks about what happens when the dribbler steps on the boundary line, without touching the ball.

    This is obviously a tomato/tomahto thing, but for the life of me, I can't imagine how.
    __________________
    Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
    Reply With Quote
      #13 (permalink)  
    Old Tue Nov 18, 2003, 03:06pm
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Oct 2002
    Location: Idaho
    Posts: 1,474
    Quote:
    Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
    RULE 9 SECTION 3 OUT OF BOUNDS
    A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds.
    Question - The dribbler steps on or outside a boundary, but does not touch the ball while he or she is out of bounds. Is this a violation? Answer - Yes.

    Touching the ball again immediately after being OOB and then coming back in-bounds is the violation,and that is what R9-3 is telling you.If the player NEVER DOES TOUCH THE BALL after stepping OOB, then what particular violation in the rulebook then covers the play? R9-3 doesn't. The player has NEVER caused the ball to go OOB if he ends his dribble by NOT touching the ball again AFTER going OOB.Please find me a rule that says different.
    If 9-3 doesn't cover it then nothing in the NFHS rulebook covers it. I feel it is the only thing that covers it.

    By what you seem to be saying JR, it would then be okay to be dribbling, step on the line, but don't touch the ball while OOB, let the ball bounce once by itself, place both your feet back in bounds, and essentially start a new dribble - because the previous dribble ended BEFORE you stepped on the line, before you decided to not touch the ball again and allowed the ball to bounce by itself and before you reestablished your position in bounds. Is this okay JR, Dan quadruple star? I would guess that you are not going to allow this. If you did, then there would be no reason for the note.

    If you aren't saying the above then I would assume that you are saying that it is the retouching that causes the violation. And I must assume that it is the retouching as a continuation of the dribble that causes the violation (What if he stepped OOB and immediately jumped back in bounds, both feet inbounds on the floor, and caught the ball - thereby stopping the dribble. Is that okay? I again guess that you would not allow that either.) Does that mean there is a rule stating: Violation if you are dribbling, step out of bounds and are the first one to touch the ball after you return to the floor. That's not a rule. Show me that rule. Perhaps you must accept this jump back in and catch the ball scenario as legal. I don't see how you can justify saying that 9-3 is not applicable if you don't.

    Aaaaah, I'm fed up with this discussion. It's taxing my brain for a situation I've never seen and probably never will - a player that is quick enough witted to stop his dribble and stand OOB letting his dribble bounce away.

    5 pages later! Could have spent my time more wisely. Apologies all around!
    __________________
    "There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
    Reply With Quote
      #14 (permalink)  
    Old Tue Nov 18, 2003, 03:17pm
    In Memoriam
     
    Join Date: Nov 1999
    Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
    Posts: 9,953
    Quote:
    Originally posted by ChuckElias

    None of that stuff is in my book. . .
    but I can imagine that it is. :shrug:




    Reply With Quote
      #15 (permalink)  
    Old Tue Nov 18, 2003, 03:19pm
    Official Forum Member
     
    Join Date: Aug 1999
    Posts: 18,190
    Play: Dribbler A1 steps on the OOB line, but doesn't retouch the ball. Despite Coach B's howls, Mick lets play continue and explains A1 wasn't a dribbler unless he retouched the ball.

    Late in the game, A leads by 1 with time running out. B1 obtains legal guarding position on dribbler A1. A1 runs into B1, B1 is knocked to the floor and the ball bounces away without being retouched by A1. Mick blows his whistle just as the horn sounds.

    Mick reports a player control foul and prepares to leave the court. Coach B says to Mick, "We should shoot FTs -- A1 wasn't a dribbler during the contact since he didn't retouch the ball. Therefore, the foul can't be a PC foul."

    Mick responds .... ?

    Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Bookmarks


    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is On
    Trackbacks are On
    Pingbacks are On
    Refbacks are On



    All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00am.



    Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1