The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 08, 2003, 07:49am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Re: Here's Case Book 3.3.3 Situation A:

Quote:
Originally posted by eddie736
A1 is injured during a play in which A1 has been fouled. As a result, A1 cannot attempt the free throw awarded to him/her. Substitute A6 replaces A1 and attempts the free throw which is successful. Substitute A7 replaces A6 before the clock starts. RULING: the subtitution is legal. (8-2)

I'm not sure that this really addresses Q65, but it's as close as the rule book ever gets.

The situation Q65 is asking about, in my mind is: A6 replaces A1 at a dead ball. Before the clock starts properly, the coach changes his/her mind and wants to substitute A7 for A6. Do you allow the substitution?

I say yes.
I say you're wrong in the specific case that you quoted above. Changing a substitute after they've enter the game is only allowed in 2 specific cases, and they're both covered in the rulebook. Those cases are an injured player(R8-2), and free throws for a technical foul(R8-3).The rules don't allow any other exceptions than those two,especially a coach changing his mind after a substitute has entered.

The answer to Q65's question is true because of the 2 specific cases outlined in 8-2 and 8-3.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1