|  | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Re: Substitution
			 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Re: Re: Substitution
			 
			
			The answer is true. The only way the question would be false is if they added that the player was being withdrawn for the player he originally substituted for... [/QUOTE] or, for ANY ineligible sub. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Thanks. I thought it was True, but still can't find a reference. So... on a throw in, before the ball is in play, a coach can substitute A6 for A1, then A7 for A6, then A8 for A7, etc. A pretty good delay tactic if you need it. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Re: Substitution
			 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| So... on a throw in, before the ball is in play, a coach can substitute A6 for A1, then A7 for A6, then A8 for A7, etc. [/QUOTE] Remember, once the ball is at the disposal of the thrower-in, the ball is LIVE, and the referee should not beckon a sub in at this time. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Thin ice?  Or solid ground?  You decide.
			 
			
			The only related rule I could find states that a player that has been substituted for may not return to the game as a substitute until the clock has run.  So...the rulebook does cover the subject of substitution, and it does not prohibit this case.  I conclude legal, ergo the answer is True.
		 
				__________________ "It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Re: Thin ice?  Or solid ground?  You decide.
			 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Here's Case Book 3.3.3 Situation A:
			 
			
			A1 is injured during a play in which A1 has been fouled. As a result, A1 cannot attempt the free throw awarded to him/her. Substitute A6 replaces A1 and attempts the free throw which is successful. Substitute A7 replaces A6 before the clock starts. RULING: the subtitution is legal. (8-2) I'm not sure that this really addresses Q65, but it's as close as the rule book ever gets. The situation Q65 is asking about, in my mind is: A6 replaces A1 at a dead ball. Before the clock starts properly, the coach changes his/her mind and wants to substitute A7 for A6. Do you allow the substitution? I say yes. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Re: Here's Case Book 3.3.3 Situation A:
			 Quote: 
 The answer to Q65's question is true because of the 2 specific cases outlined in 8-2 and 8-3. | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  |