The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 31, 2025, 05:20am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,391
NFHS Rule Change Regarding Goaltending ...

IAABO (not the NFHS) came out with this interpretation regarding the ball in contact with the backboard goaltending and "above the rim" in a recent "You Make The Call" video summary:

Key 2025-26 NFHS Rule Change Regarding Goaltending

Goaltending Rule Clarification – 2025-26
For clarity, officials should now recognize that there are three distinct goaltending definitions in NFHS rules:

1. Traditional Goaltending (NFHS 4-22-1)
A defensive player commits goaltending by touching the ball during a try or tap for goal while it is:
- In its downward flight,
- Is entirely above ring level,
- has a chance to enter the basket in flight,
- and is inside the imaginary basket cylinder.

Key Takeaway:
Beginning this season, this infraction applies only to the defense and requires the ball to be above the ring with the possibility of scoring.

2. Free Throw Goaltending (NFHS 4-22-2)
A defensive player commits goaltending by touching a free throw attempt outside the cylinder—even if the ball is not above the ring level.
This is a goaltending violation and also a technical foul (NFHS 10-4-9).

3. New for 2025-26 – Backboard Contact = Downward Flight (NFHS 4-22-3)
New Rule: When the ball contacts the backboard, it is considered to be in its downward flight by rule.
If a defensive player touches the ball after it hits the backboard, and the ball has a chance to score, this is goaltending.

Key Distinction:
This rule modifies NFHS 4-22-1 by removing the judgment of whether the ball is actually on its way down—the backboard contact alone determines that.

Interpretation Note:
While NFHS Rule 4-22-3 does not specify that the ball must be above the ring, IAABO has confirmed through discussions with NFHS that an upcoming interpretation will mirror the NCAA Men’s rule: If any part of the ball is above the ring level after backboard contact and is then touched by a defender, goaltending has occurred.

Backboard Logistics – Practical Application
On some backboards, the ring is 12 inches above the bottom of the backboard; on others, it may only be 6 inches. A boy's basketball is about 9.4 inches, and a girl's ball is 9.1 inches in height. Given those dimensions, it is highly probable that part of the ball is above the ring after striking the backboard, making goaltending likely under the new rule.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jul 31, 2025 at 06:02am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS One and One Rule Change paulsonj72 Basketball 13 Thu Apr 09, 2020 05:27am
NFHS Rule Change - Bats CecilOne Softball 22 Fri Jan 10, 2020 09:54am
NFHS Rule Change varefump Softball 1 Fri Feb 01, 2013 02:53pm
NFHS Unannounced Rule Change BillyMac Basketball 1 Mon Oct 15, 2007 09:48pm
NFHS Rule change?? tpaul Football 3 Mon Aug 14, 2000 01:32pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1