The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 16, 2000, 09:47pm
tpaul
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question

"The penalty against the kicking team has been eliminated if a free kick goes out of bounds between the goal lines, untouched inbounds by the receiving team, in a revision of Rule 6-1-8."

Am I reading this right? Does this now mean the kicking team can kick the ball out of bounds between the goal lines without a penalty...?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 20, 2000, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 9
Post

tpaul,

• Free kicks going out of bounds are a foul if untouched by the receiving team. 6-1-8.

This is the revision that I have received. I do not have a new bible, but I have heard that they have revised the rule so that if team B touches a free kick at anytime before it goes out of bounds, it is no longer a foul.

In the past when a free kick went out of bounds, it was important to know who touched it last before it went out of bounds. If A touched it last before going out of bounds, it was a foul (even if B touched it). If B touched it last, then there was no foul.

Now, it only matters if B touched it. If B touches it at anytime and then it goes out of bounds there is no foul. If B never touches the ball and it goes out, now we have a foul, with the usual penalties.

Of course this is all guessing, since I do not have a new bible yet and have not seen a casebook either.

Erick
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 21, 2000, 01:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 97
Post

I too don't have the new book yet, but l do believe that the kicked ball untouched by R that goes out of bounds results in no foul by A. Only if A is to be the last to touch. In all my games last year with this play, R wound up declining and started with a snap.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 14, 2000, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 5
Post

The rule was changed to say that no free kick shall go out of bounds untouched by R. The
only change was that if K is the last to touch it (but R did touch it) it is no longer a foul. If
the free Kick goes out of bounds after being touched by R it is put in play at the inbounds
spot.
Now just to confuse things. The fed made a mistake on their web page. They said it
would no longer be a foul if a free kick went out of bounds untouched by R. They did
correct this mistake, but not for about a month. Thus giving many officials the wrong
idea. But when you get you new rule book it will say untouched by R.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1