The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 06, 2024, 09:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
2023-24 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 9: A1, while dribbling the ball in team A’s frontcourt, steps on but not over the division line. RULING: Backcourt violation. COMMENT: The ball was in team control in the frontcourt and went to the backcourt when A1 contacted the division line. Team B is awarded a possession throw-in in its frontcourt at one of the four designated spots nearest the violation.


In my most recent situation the ball, not the player, touches the division line.
I think that's Situation 10.

Situation 9 is:

SITUATION 9: A1, located in Team A’s frontcourt, passes the ball to A2. The ball strikes the division line and continues to A2, who is also in the frontcourt, without being touched by an opponent. RULING: Backcourt violation. COMMENT: The ball was in team control in the frontcourt and went to the backcourt when it contacted the division line and first touched by Team A. Since the violation occurred in Team A’s frontcourt, Team B is awarded a possession throw-in in its backcourt at the spot nearest the violation. (9-9-1, 9-9 PENALTY)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 06, 2024, 10:21am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,464
Always Listen To bob ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think that's Situation 10.
Thanks bob jenkins.

2023-24 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 8: A1, located in Team A’s frontcourt, passes the ball to A2. The ball strikes the division line and continues to A2, who is also in the frontcourt, without being touched by an opponent. RULING: Backcourt violation. COMMENT: The ball was in team control in the frontcourt and went to the backcourt when it contacted the division line and first touched by Team A. Since the violation occurred in Team A’s frontcourt, Team B is awarded a possession throw-in in its backcourt at the spot nearest the violation. (9-9-1, 9-9 PENALTY)

SITUATION 9: A1, while dribbling the ball in team A’s frontcourt, steps on but not over the division line. RULING: Backcourt violation. COMMENT: The ball was in team control in the frontcourt and went to the backcourt when A1 contacted the division line. Team B is awarded a possession throw-in in its frontcourt at one of the four designated spots nearest the violation. (9-9-1, 9-9 PENALTY)


I can't wait to tell IAABO to put SITUATION 8 in their pipe and smoke it.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Nov 06, 2024 at 10:30am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Four Magic Spots ... BillyMac Basketball 16 Thu Oct 31, 2024 10:02am
Throw-in spots backcourt? Indianaref Basketball 4 Mon Oct 16, 2023 11:02am
backcourt violation furlu55 Basketball 12 Fri Feb 17, 2012 05:48pm
Backcourt violation? rawhi1 Basketball 8 Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:17am
Backcourt Violation USC04alum Basketball 5 Thu Feb 09, 2006 01:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1