![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Extremes ...
For those that are wondering, here are some situations that I'm talking about.
From 1987-1988 (when the three point arc was introduced) to the clarification in 2001-02, the two following examples would have been ruled two points if the officials had not been 100% sure that it was an actual try. 1) A1, from behind the three point line, attempts a lob pass to A2 for an alley oop dunk. The pass is slightly off and the ball directly enters the basket untouched by A2. 2) A1, from behind the three point line, attempts a pass to A3, also behind the three point line. A3 is unprepared to catch the pass and the ball hits A3 in the head and deflects directly into the basket, untouched by any other player. Here's the relevant rule, clarified in 2001-02: NFHS 5-2-1: A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team’s own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. A ball that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Conflicting Citations ...
Quote:
5.2.1 SITUATION C: A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by: (a) B1 who is in the three-point area; (b) B1 who is in the two-point area; (c) A2 who is in the three-point area; or (d) A2 who is in the two-point area. The ball continues in flight and goes through A's basket. RULING: In (a) and (b), three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line. In (c), score three points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred behind the three- point line. In (d), score two points since the legal touch by a teammate occurred in the two-point area. 4.41.4 - Situation B: A1’s three-point try is short and below ring level when it hits the shoulder of: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and rebounds to the backboard and through the basket. Ruling: The three-point try ended when it was obviously short and below the ring. However, since a live ball went through the basket, two points are scored in both (a) and (b). (5-1) And here's the rule again: NFHS 5-2-1: A successful try, tap or thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team’s own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points. A ball that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown. 5.2.1 SITUATION C talks about the ball being "touched", but doesn't mention what part of the body. 5.2.1 SITUATION C also talks about where on the court the ball is touched (inside or outside three point line). 4.41.4 Situation B talks about part of the body that the ball touches, but doesn't talk about where on the court the ball is touched (inside or outside three point line). Both case play interpretations could be improved by addding some additional details.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Oct 04, 2024 at 07:37am. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| 2 or 3 points | BigCat | Basketball | 28 | Sun Jan 17, 2016 05:08pm |
| 7 points in a championship game....7 dang points?! | OrStBballRef | Basketball | 30 | Tue Mar 20, 2012 10:17am |
| 2 or 3 points? | onetime1 | Basketball | 36 | Fri Jan 20, 2012 02:56pm |
| 2 of 3 points? | Adam | Basketball | 12 | Thu Feb 10, 2005 12:07am |
| Only two points? | dhodges007 | Basketball | 67 | Wed Dec 31, 2003 03:28pm |