The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 27, 2023, 07:59am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamefaceref View Post
A mistake by the official giving the ball to the wrong team (error).....recognized before the 1st dead ball (correctable). Just because they are not adding it to the list does not mean we would not be correcting a mistake that was made on the floor. We can go back and forth on this but this is not what I am puzzled about.
Why can we put time back on in this case and not other the other errors? Or is that coming and this is a test scenario on how well we can manage the clocks to see if it can be expanded....
Are you asking us to know why the rule was written as it was? I don't think anybody here was in the room when the correctable error rules were written or when this new throw in rule was written.

So I'll go back to my original answer. The reason why is because that's how the rules are written.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 27, 2023, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,222
And, the casebook contains one or two other errors that are correctable but are not Correctable Errors (I forget the details at the moment).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 27, 2023, 01:31pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,473
To Err Is Human ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
... one or two other errors that are correctable but are not Correctable Errors
It's an error and it's correctable but it's not a Correctable Error.

Sounds odd when one says it out loud.

Like a bookkeeping error.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 05, 2023, 01:36pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,473
Wrong Throw In Team ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I would still like to see "point of interruption" OR "original spot" actually written in the rulebook, casebook, etc.


Regarding the new rule about the wrong team getting the throwin, while there is a written IAABO interpretation (above) that allows putting time back on the clock with definite knowledge (can anyone provide a similar written NFHS interpretation that says to put time back on the clock with definite knowledge), can anyone provide either a NFHS or IAABO written reference that directs us back to the spot of the original throwin rather than to the point of interruption?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 05, 2023, 05:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
(can anyone provide a similar written NFHS interpretation that says to put time back on the clock with definite knowledge),
It's in the case plays in the front of the book where they discuss new rules.

Sorry, don't have it handy.

And, it's in the 23-24 interps posted on this site (emphasis added):

SITUATION 5: An official administers a throw-in to Team A, when the throw-in should have been given to Team B. A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and B2 knocks the ball loose. While the ball is loose, the official recognizes their mistake, whistles and awards the ball to Team B for a throw-in from the same spot. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: A loose ball does not change the status of the ball as it is still in Team A’s control. The mistake can be corrected until the status of the ball changes. The clock should be reset to the time remaining when the throw-in was made by Team A. (7-6-6)

Last edited by bob jenkins; Sun Nov 05, 2023 at 06:31pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2023, 03:57pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,473
Definite Knowledge ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
It's in the case plays in the front of the book where they discuss new rules.
Thanks bob jenkins.



Now that that's fully settled, can anyone provide either a NFHS or IAABO written reference that directs us back to the spot of the original throwin rather than to the point of interruption?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Nov 06, 2023 at 04:07pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2023, 06:48pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Thanks bob jenkins.



Now that that's fully settled, can anyone provide either a NFHS or IAABO written reference that directs us back to the spot of the original throwin rather than to the point of interruption?
I don't know of any references, but common sense says if we're correcting time with knowledge, then the spot needs to go to the original throw-in unless otherwise stated.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue Nov 07, 2023 at 09:28am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 06, 2023, 09:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Thanks bob jenkins.



Now that that's fully settled, can anyone provide either a NFHS or IAABO written reference that directs us back to the spot of the original throwin rather than to the point of interruption?
And, it's in the 23-24 interps posted on this site (emphasis added):

SITUATION 5: An official administers a throw-in to Team A, when the throw-in should have been given to Team B. A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and B2 knocks the ball loose. While the ball is loose, the official recognizes their mistake, whistles and awards the ball to Team B for a throw-in from the same spot. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENT: A loose ball does not change the status of the ball as it is still in Team A’s control. The mistake can be corrected until the status of the ball changes. The clock should be reset to the time remaining when the throw-in was made by Team A. (7-6-6)

(Yes, I suppose some will question the words "from the same spot." Some of us can't take a pre-game crap without the NFHS specifying that "U1 wipes with the right hand, U2 wipes with the left hand."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 07, 2023, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Thanks bob jenkins.



Now that that's fully settled, can anyone provide either a NFHS or IAABO written reference that directs us back to the spot of the original throwin rather than to the point of interruption?
I know bob jenkins pointed out where you can find the written reference. In the 23-24 interps is a great reference.
But if you read my original post #1, I state putting time back on the clock is on page 4 of the Case Book and in my Post #3 I mention the IAABO Handbook states you go back to the original Throw-in location.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 man free throw administration ballgame99 Basketball 3 Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:01pm
Free throw administration Jburt Basketball 26 Fri Oct 03, 2008 02:51pm
Free throw administration joencali Basketball 3 Mon Mar 13, 2006 06:59pm
Throw in Administration lds7199 Basketball 1 Sat Jan 08, 2005 11:03am
free throw administration Todd VandenAkker Basketball 16 Wed Feb 02, 2000 05:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1