The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2023, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Well the rule does not say just slapping the backboard, the slapping as to influence the ball not going in and I have called that a couple of times myself and seen it called in my games. Also as said seen it a few times on TV. So it does happen, just not very often.

Peace
If you're talking about NFHS rules, that is not correct. The slapping of the backboard rules makes no mention of whether it has an actual impact on the shot or not. It is illegal if a shot is in flight.

The rule is a bit ambiguous, but not so far as to imply it has to affect the shot.
b. Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.
The only thing that is ambiguous is whether the red part applies to both the blue and green phrases or just the green phrase.

Either way, it only has to occur when there is a potential for it to have an effect, not that it actually does.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2023, 02:55pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
If you're talking about NFHS rules, that is not correct. The slapping of the backboard rules makes no mention of whether it has an actual impact on the shot or not. It is illegal if a shot is in flight.

The rule is a bit ambiguous, but not so far as to imply it has to affect the shot.
b. Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.
The only thing that is ambiguous is whether the red part applies to both the blue and green phrases or just the green phrase.

Either way, it only has to occur when there is a potential for it to have an effect, not that it actually does.
I was not referencing high school at all. I was referencing the comment that the rule at the NCAA allows you to count a basket for slapping the backboard. The NF rule does not have GT or BI as part of the rule.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One set of lights go out vcblue Football 12 Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:41pm
Turn Out the Lights Steven Tyler Football 0 Tue Dec 07, 2010 08:01pm
Lights Out riverfalls57 Baseball 4 Wed Jul 21, 2010 09:59am
Lights out Forksref Football 6 Mon Sep 18, 2006 12:46am
The lights went out . . . . WestMichBlue Softball 10 Thu Aug 14, 2003 10:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1