![]() |
|
|
|||
If we are talking about the save play, then the answer is to me that is not possession. I am not giving a timeout at that time or calling a BCV if they were in their front court if he threw the ball to the backcourt. I like the call.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Holding Or Dribbling ...
Quote:
Is he holding the ball? I think not. One handed, possession? Sure, possible, but probably didn't happen in this play. Tough call.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Mar 26, 2022 at 04:51pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
I’m pretty sure they called possession, TC, and POI at IW. If it was a shot clock violation as you suggest, they would have reset the game clock to 2:41 which is where it was when the shot clock expired. They did not and left it at 2:40. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
|
|||
Tough Call ...
I believe that they did.
Like I said, tough call. A little more control (cupping ball in hand and fingers), easy call, one hand holding, player control, and team control. A little less control (just a few fingers tipping the ball, or flatter hand slapping the ball), easy call, no holding, no player control, and no team control. Was he slapping, tipping, or tapping the ball back onto the court? One can slap, tip, or tap with intent and direction. Was he ever holding the ball (player control is defined as holding or dribbling, nothing about controlling, one can control a tip, tap, or slap without holding the ball)? As it is, no man's land, rock and a hard place, damned if you do, damned if you don't, six of one, half dozen of the other. Judgment. It's why basketball officials get paid the big bucks.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Mar 26, 2022 at 02:03pm. |
|
|||
Ancient Times ...
Quote:
Player could be fouled on a tip or tap that missed and get no free throws (before the bonus, his team gets the ball), or a one and one (no double bonus back then). If I recall correctly, if a player was fouled before the ball was in flight after tipping or tapping, the ball became dead immediately and a basket could not be scored. Maybe the best rule change ever. Am I right Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Mar 26, 2022 at 02:13pm. |
|
|||
Imagine (John Lennon, 1971) ...
Quote:
Try explaining that to an irate coach. We did it. We had to do it. I got that right.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Mar 26, 2022 at 05:38pm. |
|
|||
The Plot Thickens ...
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Mar 26, 2022 at 02:37pm. |
|
|||
Directing Ball Toward Basket ...
If this player had touched an inbounds pass in this manner before "directing" it toward the basket with 0.3 seconds on the clock, followed by the ball entering the basket, would one count the basket?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Mar 26, 2022 at 03:23pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
It never was explained in the broadcast. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
I believe it was a SC violation as well. The explanation to the broadcast crew explained that the game clock had a timing error and the game clock should have stopped when the shot clock hit zero (so why didn't they correct it?). The in-venue PA system announced that it was a SC violation, although I'm also a bit confused about them announcing the SC should be set at 29 seconds for SPU.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
|
|||
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
If it was ruled a possession by SPU on the end-line jump, then Purdue #2 regains possession, and the IW comes just as the SPU player stabs at the ball to knock it loose (before he secured possession). I don't see how they make it SPU's ball unless they rule it a SC violation. Quote:
If it's possession by SPU and then an IW after Purdue #2 secured and was dribblng with the ball, then it should be Purdue's ball right? If it's possession by SPU and then an IW after SPU stabbed at the ball to knock it loose, then it should be arrow, right? If it's an SC violation by Purdue and ruled not possession, it should be SPU's ball on the violation, but I would assume SC gets reset to 30 and game clock gets reset to 2:41 when SC violation occured, right? Did they rule possession by SPU, then possession by Purdue, then possession by SPU after stabbing the ball? Problem with this is that Purdue #2 stops pursuing the loose ball when he hears the whistle, resulting in SPU ending up with it. Not challenging any of you, just trying to understand it myself. The net result didn't seem to make sense and I couldn't find any official explanations anywhere. |
|
|||
The shot clock should not be at 29 on a change of possession. The correct ruling would be to blow the whistle as soon as it is clear that Purdue will not attempt a shot before 0 (that could be with the shot clock at 0 with the ball rolling around).
If the whistle was blown, and the ruling was inadvertent whistle with no control, Purdue would get the ball on the AP arrow. However, they would lose the ball instantly due to the shot clock violation. This is the same as the team having the arrow, yet being awarded possession on a held ball with 20 seconds on the shot clock, where they are entitled to possession, but cannot legally gain possession because doing so would cause a 10-second violation. If St. Peter's had controlled the ball, but then there was an indavertent whistle (unlikely), then, they would get the ball with whatever was on the shot clock. Since the shot clock was not reset, it would mean that in this scenario, the shot clock would go to 30. If somehow Purdue had controlled the ball again when the inadvertent whistle had happened, they would get the shot clock reset to 30 seconds, because they possessed a live ball in the frontcourt after possession by the opponent. However, in no scenario is the shot clock going to be at 29 to start a possession. As I see it, St. Peter's will get possession in almost any scenario with 30 seconds on the shot clock, due to the shot clock violation by Purdue. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Purdue - IU Blarge | RefsNCoaches | Basketball | 62 | Fri Feb 10, 2017 05:50pm |
Purdue vs Little Rock #3 | mtn335 | Basketball | 18 | Tue Mar 22, 2016 11:31pm |
Another one: LR VS PURDUE | billyu2 | Basketball | 0 | Thu Mar 17, 2016 06:12pm |
Mich St v Purdue | Nevadaref | Basketball | 0 | Sun Mar 13, 2016 03:51pm |
Purdue-Cincinnati | AremRed | Basketball | 5 | Thu Mar 19, 2015 09:08pm |