The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2021, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Kevin Durant Critique

What do you have?

A) Illegal Dribble
B) Travel
C) Both A & B
D) Nothing

https://sports.yahoo.com/eighth-grad...160413701.html


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2021, 02:16pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,539
It is a travel on the last spin. I am not nitpicking a dribble behind the back. This is why the POE on spin moves is highlighted this year.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2021, 02:16pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Carry ...

Carry (illegal dribble) due to holding the ball when he moved it from left hand to right hand without a dribble behind his back, and subsequently starting a second illegal dribble.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Dec 22, 2021 at 02:30pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2021, 02:55pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,929
He transfers the ball from his left hand to his right hand in between dribbles. I don't even need to get to the spin move.

It's not a carry, it's not palming. It's an illegal dribble that's referred to on the playground as a double dribble.

Carrying and palming both refer to illegal plays where the same hand is used to dribble.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2021, 03:14pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Illegal (Double) Dribble ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
It's not a carry, it's not palming. It's an illegal dribble that's referred to on the playground as a double dribble. Carrying and palming both refer to illegal plays where the same hand is used to dribble.
Yeah, I can go along with with a one handed description even though the rulebook says something about two hands.

4-15-4-B: The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or both hands.

Of course, non-officials don't realize that carrying/palming is not an actual rule violation, it's either a travel, or an illegal (double) dribble, even though carrying/palming has it's own signal.

From the Misunderstood List: Palming, or carrying, is when the ball comes to rest in the dribbler's hand, and the player either travels with the ball, or illegally dribbles a second time.

IAABO (never heard it from the NFHS), in one of its Make the Call videos, takes this one step further (a step too far in my opinion) by differentiating between palming and carrying; one, carrying, being a travel; and the other, palming, being an illegal (double) dribble. Up until seeing the video, I had never heard of such a differentiation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
IAABO International Play Commentary: There is a distinct difference between palming and carrying. Palming occurs when a dribbler can maintain their pivot foot, allows the ball to come to rest, and then completes a second dribble. This is an illegal dribble, commonly referred to as a double dribble. Carrying occurs when the ball comes to rest while the dribbler moves the pivot foot in excess of prescribed limits. This violation is covered within the traveling rule.
The kid, when going behind his back, almost puts two hands on the ball at the same time (had to double check). Lots of weird stuff here. Thanks crosscountry55.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Dec 22, 2021 at 05:02pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2021, 05:16pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,929
I noticed immediately him putting the ball from his left hand to his right hand. I don't see how anybody could miss that.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2021, 06:02pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
You Haven't Done Nothin' (1974) ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
I noticed immediately him putting the ball from his left hand to his right hand. I don't see how anybody could miss that.
Little Stevie Wonder could have made this call with his eyes closed.

Could it have been a travel/carry immediately before he switched hands, that ball sure seemed somewhat cupped (holding) in his left hand while his feet were moving?

Maybe it was a two person game, with the trail across the basketline on the other side of the court?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Dec 22, 2021 at 06:13pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2021, 06:38pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Little Stevie Wonder could have made this call with his eyes closed.

Could it have been a travel/carry immediately before he switched hands, that ball sure seemed somewhat cupped (holding) in his left hand while his feet were moving?

Maybe it was a two person game, with the trail across the basketline on the other side of the court?
You didn't see it on a video. You had to double check to see if he had two hands on the ball at the same time. How did you not see him switching the ball from one hand to the other?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Dec 22, 2021 at 06:40pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2021, 06:58pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Two Hands, Illegal Dribble ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
You didn't see it on a video ... How did you not see him switching the ball from one hand to the other?
Did he touch the ball with two hands at the same time when the ball was behind his back? Sure, if you say so. You'll get no argument from me. I was unsure because I thought I spotted a few millimeters of separation space during a hand switching self "pass", or maybe it was an actual handoff. Maybe your monitor is better than my small ten year old monitor.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Dec 22, 2021 at 07:00pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2021, 07:03pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Did he touch the ball with two hands at the same time when the ball was behind his back? Sure, if you say so. You'll get no argument from me. I was unsure because I thought I spotted a few millimeters of separation space during a hand switching self "pass", or maybe it was an actual handoff. Maybe your monitor is better than my small ten year old monitor.
What does it matter if he touched it with both hands at the same time or passed it from one hand to the other.

He had already dribbled and he OBVIOUSLY touched the ball with both hands prior to dribbling again. Why is touching it at the same time or separately relevant? Why do you bring stuff into the conversation that means nothing at all?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Dec 22, 2021 at 07:05pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2021, 08:17pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,929
"The kid, when going behind his back, almost puts two hands on the ball at the same time (had to double check)."

What are you double checking and why? Your statement would lead a new, unknowing official to think it makes a difference whether it was touched by both hands at the same time or separately?

This is you causing unnecessary confusion.


Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Wed Dec 22, 2021 at 08:22pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2021, 09:09am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Weird Wild Stuff (Johnny Carson) ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
"The kid, when going behind his back, almost puts two hands on the ball at the same time (had to double check)."
Context is important. My subsequent statement was:

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Lots of weird stuff here.
Had the player put two hands on the ball at the same time, which I don't believe that he did (by millimeters), that would have been an additional article violation worthy of Durant's scorn, and might have been the first violation in this play depending on how one viewed the cupping with the left hand with accompanying foot movement.

4-15-4-C: The dribble ends when: The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands.

Like Johnny Carson said, "Weird wild stuff".
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Dec 23, 2021 at 10:22am.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2021, 09:32am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,307
Book, Chapter, And Verse ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
The dribble is illegal because it was touched by both hands in between dribbles.
Agree. But it was illegal for, at least, one other reason, with one reason not (barely) being for simultaneously touching the ball with both hands.

Some could have viewed the cupping (holding) while moving his feet as a travel (carry), however this was quite subtle and there was a more obvious violation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
“slight of hand”
Would it be easier to state which rule, section, and article this young ball handler didn't violate?

Again, thanks crosscountry55 for this very educational and interesting video.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Dec 23, 2021 at 09:43am.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2021, 10:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Hate to say it Raymond, but 4-15-4c specifies simultaneity is required for the dribble to be considered ended:

ART. 4 ... The dribble ends when:

a. The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both hands.

b. The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or both hands.

c. The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands.

d. The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control.

e. The ball becomes dead.


Probably where this is an illegal dribble actually comes from 4-15-2:

ART. 2 ... During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s).

I think there were a few millimeters of separation. It may have been the shortest “bat” in basketball history.

Either way, an illegal dribble. Just a matter of which section of the article applies.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2021, 11:17pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,929
The dribble is illegal because it was touched by both hands in between dribbles. You cannot touch the ball with both hands either simultaneously or separately in between dribbles. You can't even touch it twice with the same hand. What I am saying is part is part of your post. You pointed it out. So how am I wrong?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kevin Ware gojeremy Basketball 16 Fri Apr 05, 2013 01:54pm
NBA Finals: Game 1 Durant End of Game Drive/Shot APG Basketball 17 Sat Jun 16, 2012 11:13pm
Critique anyone dan74 Basketball 42 Tue Jan 01, 2008 04:10pm
Where do I go to help critique referees? pbabuder Wrestling 1 Thu Dec 13, 2007 05:15pm
Critique, Please CraigD Baseball 57 Mon Jun 18, 2007 06:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1