The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Kevin Durant Critique (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/105587-kevin-durant-critique.html)

crosscountry55 Wed Dec 22, 2021 02:12pm

Kevin Durant Critique
 
What do you have?

A) Illegal Dribble
B) Travel
C) Both A & B
D) Nothing

https://sports.yahoo.com/eighth-grad...160413701.html


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JRutledge Wed Dec 22, 2021 02:16pm

It is a travel on the last spin. I am not nitpicking a dribble behind the back. This is why the POE on spin moves is highlighted this year.

Peace

BillyMac Wed Dec 22, 2021 02:16pm

Carry ...
 
Carry (illegal dribble) due to holding the ball when he moved it from left hand to right hand without a dribble behind his back, and subsequently starting a second illegal dribble.

Raymond Wed Dec 22, 2021 02:55pm

He transfers the ball from his left hand to his right hand in between dribbles. I don't even need to get to the spin move.

It's not a carry, it's not palming. It's an illegal dribble that's referred to on the playground as a double dribble.

Carrying and palming both refer to illegal plays where the same hand is used to dribble.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Wed Dec 22, 2021 03:14pm

Illegal (Double) Dribble ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1046061)
It's not a carry, it's not palming. It's an illegal dribble that's referred to on the playground as a double dribble. Carrying and palming both refer to illegal plays where the same hand is used to dribble.

Yeah, I can go along with with a one handed description even though the rulebook says something about two hands.

4-15-4-B: The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or both hands.

Of course, non-officials don't realize that carrying/palming is not an actual rule violation, it's either a travel, or an illegal (double) dribble, even though carrying/palming has it's own signal.

From the Misunderstood List: Palming, or carrying, is when the ball comes to rest in the dribbler's hand, and the player either travels with the ball, or illegally dribbles a second time.

IAABO (never heard it from the NFHS), in one of its Make the Call videos, takes this one step further (a step too far in my opinion) by differentiating between palming and carrying; one, carrying, being a travel; and the other, palming, being an illegal (double) dribble. Up until seeing the video, I had never heard of such a differentiation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1041448)
IAABO International Play Commentary: There is a distinct difference between palming and carrying. Palming occurs when a dribbler can maintain their pivot foot, allows the ball to come to rest, and then completes a second dribble. This is an illegal dribble, commonly referred to as a double dribble. Carrying occurs when the ball comes to rest while the dribbler moves the pivot foot in excess of prescribed limits. This violation is covered within the traveling rule.

The kid, when going behind his back, almost puts two hands on the ball at the same time (had to double check). Lots of weird stuff here. Thanks crosscountry55.

Raymond Wed Dec 22, 2021 05:16pm

I noticed immediately him putting the ball from his left hand to his right hand. I don't see how anybody could miss that.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Wed Dec 22, 2021 06:02pm

You Haven't Done Nothin' (1974) ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1046063)
I noticed immediately him putting the ball from his left hand to his right hand. I don't see how anybody could miss that.

Little Stevie Wonder could have made this call with his eyes closed.

Could it have been a travel/carry immediately before he switched hands, that ball sure seemed somewhat cupped (holding) in his left hand while his feet were moving?

Maybe it was a two person game, with the trail across the basketline on the other side of the court?

Raymond Wed Dec 22, 2021 06:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1046065)
Little Stevie Wonder could have made this call with his eyes closed.

Could it have been a travel/carry immediately before he switched hands, that ball sure seemed somewhat cupped (holding) in his left hand while his feet were moving?

Maybe it was a two person game, with the trail across the basketline on the other side of the court?

You didn't see it on a video. You had to double check to see if he had two hands on the ball at the same time. How did you not see him switching the ball from one hand to the other?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Wed Dec 22, 2021 06:58pm

Two Hands, Illegal Dribble ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1046067)
You didn't see it on a video ... How did you not see him switching the ball from one hand to the other?

Did he touch the ball with two hands at the same time when the ball was behind his back? Sure, if you say so. You'll get no argument from me. I was unsure because I thought I spotted a few millimeters of separation space during a hand switching self "pass", or maybe it was an actual handoff. Maybe your monitor is better than my small ten year old monitor.

Raymond Wed Dec 22, 2021 07:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1046069)
Did he touch the ball with two hands at the same time when the ball was behind his back? Sure, if you say so. You'll get no argument from me. I was unsure because I thought I spotted a few millimeters of separation space during a hand switching self "pass", or maybe it was an actual handoff. Maybe your monitor is better than my small ten year old monitor.

What does it matter if he touched it with both hands at the same time or passed it from one hand to the other.

He had already dribbled and he OBVIOUSLY touched the ball with both hands prior to dribbling again. Why is touching it at the same time or separately relevant? Why do you bring stuff into the conversation that means nothing at all?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

BillyMac Wed Dec 22, 2021 08:10pm

Both On Same Page, Except The Label ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Raymond (Post 1046070)
What does it matter if he touched it with both hands at the same time or passed it from one hand to the other.

It doesn't.

Here's my take:

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 1046060)
Carry (illegal dribble) due to holding the ball when he moved it from left hand to right hand without a dribble behind his back, and subsequently starting a second illegal dribble.

He held (cupped) the ball in this left hand, "self passed" behind his back, and then held (cupped) the ball in his right hand, after which he dribbled "again".

Other than calling it a carry, where am I wrong?

Raymond Wed Dec 22, 2021 08:17pm

"The kid, when going behind his back, almost puts two hands on the ball at the same time (had to double check)."

What are you double checking and why? Your statement would lead a new, unknowing official to think it makes a difference whether it was touched by both hands at the same time or separately?

This is you causing unnecessary confusion.


Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

crosscountry55 Wed Dec 22, 2021 10:35pm

Hate to say it Raymond, but 4-15-4c specifies simultaneity is required for the dribble to be considered ended:

ART. 4 ... The dribble ends when:

a. The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both hands.

b. The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or both hands.

c. The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands.

d. The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control.

e. The ball becomes dead.


Probably where this is an illegal dribble actually comes from 4-15-2:

ART. 2 ... During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s).

I think there were a few millimeters of separation. It may have been the shortest “bat” in basketball history.

Either way, an illegal dribble. Just a matter of which section of the article applies.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Raymond Wed Dec 22, 2021 11:17pm

The dribble is illegal because it was touched by both hands in between dribbles. You cannot touch the ball with both hands either simultaneously or separately in between dribbles. You can't even touch it twice with the same hand. What I am saying is part is part of your post. You pointed it out. So how am I wrong?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Raymond Wed Dec 22, 2021 11:42pm

So based on what I've read in this thread, there are officials who say it is legal for a player to tap the ball from one hand to the other in between dribbles?

Dribble, ball bounces up, A1 taps the ball with his right hand to his left hand, then dribbles (bats the ball to the floor) with his left hand. That is legal and I've been calling it wrong all these years?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1