The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 07, 2021, 11:51am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,376
IAABO Exam - Throws Ball Against Own Backboard ...

Attended a local IAABO Refresher Exam study group a few nights ago. We had about a dozen guys, some of whom are very good "rules guys". We didn't have an answer sheet. We spent a lot of time debating the question below, only find the answer immediately when we did a deep dive in the current casebook.

37) A-1 dribbles and comes to a stop. Then he throws the ball against his own backboard and catches the ball. The official rules a violation and awards the ball to Team B. Is the official correct?

We've had the same debate here on the Forum for as long as I've been a Forum member. Some advocating for this being an "automatic" try, others advocating that judgment is required to differentiate between a try and something else.

Our debate was based on the rationale of team’s “equipment” being used, with no mention of team’s “equipment” in the actual rulebook, just the casebook.

2020-21 NFHS Basketball Casebook 9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which the player throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. Ruling: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)

Now we have the definitive answer to our long standing debate based on an unannounced change in the 2021-22 NFHS Casebook.

2021-22 NFHS Basketball Casebook 9.5 Situation: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) the team’s own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. Ruling: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered a try for goal. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 4-15-2; Fundamental 19)

Note that there is no longer mention of team’s “equipment” in the casebook play. I guess that the NFHS finally figured that this was a screwy rationale.

A throw against a team’s own backboard is considered a try for goal. Period. Cut-and-dried. No judgement needed. No more debate.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Nov 07, 2021 at 04:46pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IAABO Exam #19 ChuckS Basketball 5 Fri Nov 02, 2018 02:21pm
IAABO Refresher Exam Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 33 Sat Dec 27, 2008 03:08pm
IAABO exam Zebra06 Basketball 2 Fri Aug 15, 2008 07:41pm
IAABO Exam ref18 Basketball 19 Sun Nov 25, 2007 09:54pm
IAABO mechanics exam Q 31 oc Basketball 4 Sun Nov 09, 2003 09:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1