View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 07, 2021, 11:51am
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,376
IAABO Exam - Throws Ball Against Own Backboard ...

Attended a local IAABO Refresher Exam study group a few nights ago. We had about a dozen guys, some of whom are very good "rules guys". We didn't have an answer sheet. We spent a lot of time debating the question below, only find the answer immediately when we did a deep dive in the current casebook.

37) A-1 dribbles and comes to a stop. Then he throws the ball against his own backboard and catches the ball. The official rules a violation and awards the ball to Team B. Is the official correct?

We've had the same debate here on the Forum for as long as I've been a Forum member. Some advocating for this being an "automatic" try, others advocating that judgment is required to differentiate between a try and something else.

Our debate was based on the rationale of team’s “equipment” being used, with no mention of team’s “equipment” in the actual rulebook, just the casebook.

2020-21 NFHS Basketball Casebook 9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which the player throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. Ruling: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)

Now we have the definitive answer to our long standing debate based on an unannounced change in the 2021-22 NFHS Casebook.

2021-22 NFHS Basketball Casebook 9.5 Situation: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) the team’s own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. Ruling: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered a try for goal. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 4-15-2; Fundamental 19)

Note that there is no longer mention of team’s “equipment” in the casebook play. I guess that the NFHS finally figured that this was a screwy rationale.

A throw against a team’s own backboard is considered a try for goal. Period. Cut-and-dried. No judgement needed. No more debate.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Nov 07, 2021 at 04:46pm.
Reply With Quote