Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
I knew it.
|
Pretend that I'm from Missouri.
Show me where in the rulebook, not the casebook, it states that one can end a dribble, pass or bounce the ball off of that team’s equipment, and then one can legally start a new dribble?
Seriously, even the new casebook play has it's own rule citation limits. I don't believe that the rulebook (not the casebook) states anywhere that throwing a ball off of a team’s own backboard is considered a try for goal.
4-41-2: A try for field goal is an attempt by a player to score two or three points by throwing the ball into a team’s own basket. A player is trying for goal when the player has the ball and in the official’s judgment is throwing or attempting to throw for goal.
That being said, I like the new casebook play much better then the old casebook play, and would have absolutely no problem using the new casebook citation for my ruling on this play, mainly because it's stated so simply: ...
throws the ball against ... a team’s own backboard is considered a try for goal.; unlike the old casebook play that had a complex, screwy rationale that really didn't make much sense.