![]() |
|
|
|||
10 seconds
Team A has the ball in their backcourt. Official's count is at 9.
A1 decides to take a shot. As the try is in flight, the official reaches a 10-count and then three point attempt/ basket subsequently goes. Should the official have continued their count? Violation? Or successful 3 point try? |
|
|||
As I said in another place, I think that it matters to some extent if this is a shot or pass. But I cannot confirm that and there appears to not be rules coverage either way. I think this is a play that was never considered and might not be thought of as to a shot near the end of a game, half or quarter. I can understand justifications for either a call or counting the basket.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Team Control ...
Quote:
Here's the "rules coverage": 9-8: A player must not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds. 4-12-2: A team is in control of the ball: a. When a player of the team is in control. b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates. 4-12-3-a: Team control continues until: The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal. Now ask about a long pass.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Oct 28, 2021 at 01:24pm. |
|
|||
Yeah I know the count continues on a long pass.
I was aware of both of those accounts. I think a legit shot we stop our count and the goal is good. If the shot is considerably short, a legit argument can be made we have to call 10 seconds. |
|
|||
Shot ...
Once you deem it to be a "shot" (as you definitely did in your post), it's a shot and there's no going back.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Oct 28, 2021 at 01:25pm. |
|
|||
IF there is a shot then this is not relevant. If it is pass, it could still be ruled a violation. I was overthinking the first response.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Judgement ...
Quote:
And then there could be something else if it is a pass. Just because it can be ruled a ten second violation, should it be ruled a ten second violation in a real game in real time (as compared to a written test question). At exactly the ten second mark, some (not all) may consider this (long pass) a "gotcha" call.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
No,w if you said "if the BALL is considerably short...." then you can have an argument about judging this to be a shot. |
|
|||
Long Pass ...
Here's the "rules coverage":
9.8 SITUATION A: A1 is in A’s backcourt and has dribbled for nine seconds and then passes the ball forward towards A2 in the frontcourt. While the ball is in the air traveling from backcourt to frontcourt, the 10-second count is reached. RULING: Violation by Team A as the ball has not gained frontcourt location. It is B’s ball for a throw-in from the out-of-bounds spot closest to where A1 released the ball on the pass toward A2. (4-3; 7-5-2)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Oct 28, 2021 at 01:24pm. |
|
|||
If you have judged it to be a shot, there is no longer team control, therefore no longer a 10-second count. That's how I interpret it.
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Three Seconds | FruitStripeGum | Basketball | 10 | Thu Feb 21, 2013 06:04pm |
3 seconds | Upward ref | Basketball | 18 | Sat Jan 12, 2013 09:38am |
3 seconds | KenL.nation | Basketball | 3 | Mon Jan 30, 2012 09:11am |
Ten Seconds... | jwwashburn | Softball | 17 | Mon Feb 04, 2008 02:21pm |
Three Seconds | DJ | Basketball | 41 | Thu Jan 15, 2004 04:35pm |