![]() |
10 seconds
Team A has the ball in their backcourt. Official's count is at 9.
A1 decides to take a shot. As the try is in flight, the official reaches a 10-count and then three point attempt/ basket subsequently goes. Should the official have continued their count? Violation? Or successful 3 point try? |
As I said in another place, I think that it matters to some extent if this is a shot or pass. But I cannot confirm that and there appears to not be rules coverage either way. I think this is a play that was never considered and might not be thought of as to a shot near the end of a game, half or quarter. I can understand justifications for either a call or counting the basket.
Peace |
Team Control ...
Quote:
Here's the "rules coverage": 9-8: A player must not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds. 4-12-2: A team is in control of the ball: a. When a player of the team is in control. b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates. 4-12-3-a: Team control continues until: The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal. Now ask about a long pass. |
Yeah I know the count continues on a long pass.
I was aware of both of those accounts. I think a legit shot we stop our count and the goal is good. If the shot is considerably short, a legit argument can be made we have to call 10 seconds. |
Long Pass ...
Quote:
9.8 SITUATION A: A1 is in A’s backcourt and has dribbled for nine seconds and then passes the ball forward towards A2 in the frontcourt. While the ball is in the air traveling from backcourt to frontcourt, the 10-second count is reached. RULING: Violation by Team A as the ball has not gained frontcourt location. It is B’s ball for a throw-in from the out-of-bounds spot closest to where A1 released the ball on the pass toward A2. (4-3; 7-5-2) |
Shot ...
Quote:
|
IF there is a shot then this is not relevant. If it is pass, it could still be ruled a violation. I was overthinking the first response.
Peace |
Judgement ...
Quote:
And then there could be something else if it is a pass. Just because it can be ruled a ten second violation, should it be ruled a ten second violation in a real game in real time (as compared to a written test question). At exactly the ten second mark, some (not all) may consider this (long pass) a "gotcha" call. |
If you have judged it to be a shot, there is no longer team control, therefore no longer a 10-second count. That's how I interpret it.
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
Quote:
Peace |
Forcing The Call ...
Quote:
Regarding lazy offense, or great defense, I also agree. I've called it a few times in my forty year career, but it was a really lazy offense, or a really great defense, or a really, really long and high pass (hang time). Even then, I felt like I was showing off, "I know the rule. Gotcha". |
Quote:
Peace |
A Call That Has To Be Made ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
No,w if you said "if the BALL is considerably short...." then you can have an argument about judging this to be a shot. |
Wink, Wink, Nod, Nod ...
Quote:
In ancient times, opponents going for rebound. A1 is boxed out and bumps into B1. Ball goes out of bounds off B1's finger a split second after both players touch the ball. Give the ball to Team B. Team A coach was happy that A1 didn't get charged with a foul. Team B coach was happy his team had the ball. Wink, wink, nod, nod. The officials knew what really happened. Both coaches knew what really happened. If A1 and B1 are smart veteran players, they knew what really happened. Even intelligent fans may have known what really happened. Today, with the availability of video, call the foul on A1 if it's a foul, or give the ball to Team A. No more winking and nodding. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39am. |