![]() |
|
|
|||
Different Situation ...
That was Situation A.
Quote:
(Note: I believe that all correctable errors occur during dead balls.) Ball become live (first live ball) when at disposal of Team A inbounder. Ball remains live (and clock runs) when Team A in-bounds the ball, when Team A attempts a shot (that misses), when Team B rebounds the ball, and when Team B moves down the court (no dead balls in this sequence, ball is live the entire sequence). Team B making a basket is the next dead ball (second dead ball). Timer immediately sounds the horn. Informs the official the foul was #7 for Team B. Error is correctable because there was never a second live ball. ![]() Note: With a change of possession, point of interruption after free throw(s), when Team A will subsequently run the end line.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jul 08, 2021 at 07:07pm. |
|
|||
Avoid Correctable Errors ...
Best way to handle correctable errors is to avoid them.
Unfortunately, especially in middle school games with no team fouls on the scoreboard, sometimes the scorekeepers (sometimes students) are asleep at the switch. I wish that I got a dollar every time I asked a middle school scorekeeper, "Is it one and one?", or, "How many team fouls now?". If so, I would be spending my retirement years in my villa in Tuscany. ![]()
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jul 08, 2021 at 07:07pm. |
|
|||
Check the past Interps. This situation was published by the NFHS a few years ago. As has already been stated in the thread by others, A1 is brought back into the game to attempt the FTs and then, if possible, A6 is permitted to substitute for A1 following the FTs.
|
|
|||
The King Of Interpretations ...
Quote:
2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 1: A1 is fouled by B1 late in the second quarter. It is a common foul and the seventh Team B foul. The bonus situation is not recognized by the scorer or the officiating crew, and the Team A coach substitutes A6 for A1. A6 is beckoned onto the floor and A1 goes to the team bench. The scorer recognizes the error and sounds the horn (a) just before or (b) just after the administering official hands the ball to A2 for a throw-in. RULING: This is a correctable-error situation and falls within the proper timeframe for a correction. In both (a) and (b), A6 leaves the game with A1 re-entering to shoot the bonus free throw. Play is resumed as after any free-throw attempt(s). If the second free throw is successful and the coach desires, A6 may re-enter the contest. (2-10-1a; 2-10-6)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
For The Good Of The Cause ...
Another good correctable/non-correctable substitution situation:
2000-2001 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations SITUATION 5: A1 is fouled in the act of shooting and is awarded two free throws. A1 is injured on the play and Team A’s coach has been beckoned on the floor to attend to A1. Although by rule A1 should leave the game until the next legal opportunity to substitute, the officials make an error and permit A1 to complete the free throws before leaving. The opposing coach objects and insists that A1’s substitute should have shot the free throws, and a correctable error has occurred. RULING: The officials made an error by permitting A1 to remain in the game. This is not a correctable error for a wrong player attempting a free throw, even though A1 is required to leave the game by rule. (3-3-5; 3-3-3)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Jul 09, 2021 at 09:49am. |
|
|||
Owns The Basket ???
New correctable error situation #4: Two technical foul free throws successful at the wrong basket. Subsequent live ball, dead ball, and live ball. Error discovered too late, so not correctable.
Everything else is "going the right way". Is this treated as any other "wrong way" basket, two points counting for the team that "owns" the basket?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Jul 09, 2021 at 10:55am. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
... Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Mon Jul 12, 2021 at 10:28pm. |
|
|||
Re-Enter ...
Glad the NFHS added this part. Without it, I would have made A6 sit a tick (and be wrong).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Shot clock error- correctable error? | mutantducky | Basketball | 11 | Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:35am |
Correctable Error? | Adam | Basketball | 11 | Tue Dec 13, 2011 05:48pm |
Correctable Error | Chess Ref | Basketball | 14 | Mon Dec 18, 2006 01:17pm |
Another correctable error in NIT | Nevadaref | Basketball | 2 | Tue Mar 23, 2004 05:01pm |
correctable error | coldbears | Basketball | 60 | Fri Mar 19, 2004 01:37pm |