![]() |
|
|
|||
IAABO Survey Says
Disclaimer: Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.
https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...QALgGCr07W.mp4 IAABO Play Commentary Correct Answer: This is not a foul. This play demonstrates the importance of positioning to make accurate rulings. One of the most important concepts for ruling on rebound contact is the principle of verticality. (4-45) As the ball comes off the ring, there is contact between the two opponents in the lower spaces on the Trails side of the lane. Who was responsible for causing this contact? Which official had the best view? The player (Gray #1) in the second space enters the lane and jumps vertically in an attempt to secure the rebound or to tap the ball. When you watch his movement, did he hinder or displace his opponent? The defensive rebounder (White #20) enters the lane, obtains a position, then moves back toward his airborne opponent. This is where the contact occurs. White #20 uses his lower torso and extends his right arm in an attempt to keep Gray #1 from securing the rebound. If there is a foul to be ruled on this play, it should be charged to White #20. From the Lead's angle, Gray #1 is "on the back" is charged with a foul. The Trail official has a much better angle on the play and rules the contact to be incidental. The Lead should recognize his partner has a better angle and should "trust his partner" to rule on this contact. It should be noted; the Trail was not properly positioned at the outset of the free throw. He was parallel to the free-throw line and did not have a good view of the top two spaces on the farther lane line. The Trail official should take a position approximately 3 feet behind the free-throw line extended and approximately halfway between the nearer free throw lane line and the sideline (IAABO manual pg 93). The Trail did close down toward the endline on the release and did end up in a good position to view the rebounding activity. Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: This is not a foul 86%. This is correctly ruled a foul 14% (including me).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
That should read "incorrectly".
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote, Unquote ...
Yes, it does sound odd, however 14% (including me) of IAABO members that commented on the video selected this choice, the wrong choice: This is correctly ruled a foul.
"This is incorrectly ruled a foul" was never a choice, and is, in essence, the same as This is not a foul, the only other choice. Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Apr 21, 2021 at 09:29am. |
|
|||
Bottom line, this is not a foul by the player from behind. It just looks like he is jumping and makes little to no contact in the process. I think that is Raymond's point.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael Mick Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
This Is Not A Foul ...
Quote:
I thought that Raymond was referring to the odd wording of the results. IAABO probably would have been better off with two simpler choices: This is a foul, or this is not a foul. The "correctly" in the answer This is correctly ruled a foul was referring to the actual call in the video, and was probably not necessary as part of the answer choices, and ended up making the final posted results somewhat oddly worded.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Apr 21, 2021 at 10:01am. |
|
|||
I have to ask why the old Trail official collects the ball and heads toward the end line for a throw-in. The inset scoreboard in the video shows the team fouls to be 11 and 9. (Amusing that 11 is posted.) Both teams are clearly in the bonus and have been for a while. Poor game awareness and possibly botching a rule by not awarding merited FTs (based upon the call made).
|
|
|||
Odd ...
Quote:
Never even had a scoreboard operator try that. Never. Ever. Even with no input from officials, they unilaterally just don't do it. Probably learned it in scoreboard operator school. "Hey. BillyMac. Look. It's nineteen to two. Don't we get to shoot free throws too?"
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Apr 21, 2021 at 02:55pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Throw-in by wrong team after made free throw | HawkeyeCubP | Basketball | 1 | Mon Nov 14, 2016 06:53pm |
Free Throw Coverage-Men's NCAA | sleebo | Basketball | 6 | Sat Jul 11, 2009 09:56am |
Free throw lane coverage | eyezen | Basketball | 5 | Mon Dec 08, 2008 08:29pm |
throw-in after double personal during free throw | closetotheedge | Basketball | 26 | Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am |
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! | jritchie | Basketball | 10 | Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm |