The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 07:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 198
Errant Pass

A1 is ready to make a pass to A2. As A1 goes to make the pass and A2 makes a back door cut. The pass from A1 is weak and bounces several times since this occurred out front and no one is around. A1 recovers the errant pass. I say legal play.

Case play best I can do is 4.15.4.D and 4.44.3 C (b)

Any more help needed?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 07:42am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Had A1 already dribbled prior to this action? Can't discuss this play without that information. And that information allows you to answer your own question.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 08:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 198
A1 had not dribbled it makes this a legal play.

If A1 had dribbled, it makes the play illegal.

Still using same case play references?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 09:34am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Recovers ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
A1 is ready to make a pass to A2. As A1 goes to make the pass and A2 makes a back door cut. The pass from A1 is weak and bounces several times since this occurred out front and no one is around. A1 recovers the errant pass.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
A1 had not dribbled it makes this a legal play.
Legal, but if "recovers" means A1 held the ball, he can't legally dribble again.

If "recovers" means that A1 simply "continued" dribbling the "self" bounce pass, that's also legal.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Mar 23, 2021 at 10:24am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 10:58am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
A1 had not dribbled it makes this a legal play.

If A1 had dribbled, it makes the play illegal.

Still using same case play references?
If it is clearly a pass (clean) then it is only the start of a dribble. If there is a fumble, then the player can always get their fumble.

So that is why it matters if they have dribbled before, because a player can pick up what is essentially a dribble. And they can always pick up a fumble. Some judgment there, but if a player is fast enough to get a pass in the first place, that is pretty darn good.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 734
Caveat: the pass can become the start of the dribble so long as it is the legal start of a dribble--the "passer" didn't lift the pivot foot before releasing the ball.

Aside: a couple of years ago, the NBA added a specific prohibition on a self-pass, which would seem to mean that in the NBA this would not be permitted. Seemed an odd add to me.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 11:27am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
"Passer" ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Legal, but if "recovers" means A1 held the ball, he can't legally dribble again. If "recovers" means that A1 simply "continued" dribbling the "self" bounce pass, that's also legal.
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
... the pass can become the start of the dribble so long as it is the legal start of a dribble, the "passer" didn't lift the pivot foot before releasing the ball.
Great point. Lifting the pivot foot before releasing the ball is legal for a pass or a try (or to do nothing like standing like a flamingo), but not legal to start a dribble, which would result in a traveling violation.

Like the way so cal lurker put the word "passer" in quotes.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Mar 23, 2021 at 11:55am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 198
So if A1 had dribbled and then stopped with ball in 2 hands and then made the errant pass and the ball stuck the floor when no one was home and A1 is the first to touch this is a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 12:15pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Self Pass ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
... a couple of years ago, the NBA added a specific prohibition on a self-pass ...
I can't disagree with so cal lurker because I know more about Heisenberg's Uncertainty Principle than I know about NBA rules.

But I would still like to see how the NBA defines a self-pass?

Steph Curry receives an inbound pass while all alone while deep in his backcourt. He catches the inbound pass with two hands and then turns around, pivoting without moving, or lifting, his pivot foot, and then immediately, with those same two hands, tosses the ball into the air, with the ball striking the court several feet in front of him, and he allows the ball to bounce a few times on the court. He then sees that he's wide open, catches up to the ball, catches it with two hands, lifts both feet, obviously including his pivot foot, and attempts a seventy-five foot jump shot, that hits nothing but net.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Mar 23, 2021 at 01:49pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 11:32am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Fumble ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
... And they can always pick up a fumble.
Thanks JRutledge. Good reminder.

4-21: A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player’s grasp.

Fumble, dribble, fumble is legal.

Dribble, fumble, dribble is illegal.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 09:30am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
4.15.4.D and 4.44.3 C (b) ...
4.15.4 SITUATION D: While dribbling: (a) A1 bats the ball over the head of an opponent, runs around the opponent, bats the ball to the floor and continues to dribble; (b) the ball bounces away but A1 is able to get to it and continues to dribble; (c) the ball hits A1’s foot and bounces away but A1 is able to overtake and pick it up; or (d) A1 fumbles the ball in ending the dribble so that A1 must run to recover it. RULING: Violation in (a), because the ball was touched twice by A1’s hand(s) during a dribble, before it touched the floor. In (b), even though the dribble was interrupted it has not ended and A1 may continue the dribble. In (c), the dribble ended when A1 caught the ball; and it ended in (d) when it was fumbled. Even though the dribble has ended in (c) and (d), A1 may recover the ball but may not dribble again. (9-5)

4.44.3 SITUATION C: (a) A1 tosses the ball from one hand to the other while keeping his/her pivot foot in contact with the floor; or (b) A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it. RULING: Legal in (a), but a traveling violation in (b). In (b), since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is illegal. (9-4)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 05:32pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
My high school commissioner is an NBA Finals referee. Our lead on-court trainer is an NBA referee. The two referees whom you referenced above as the children of a forum member came up through my high school board. I referee every summer using NBA rules in a Pro-Am for the aforementioned trainer of my high school board, often side-by-side with G-League and NBA referees.

I am familiar enough with how NBA referees operate.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 05:53pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
What'cha Call A Forum NBA Expert ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
My high school commissioner is an NBA Finals referee. Our lead on-court trainer is an NBA referee. The two referees whom you referenced above as the children of a forum member came up through my high school board. I referee every summer using NBA rules in a Pro-Am for the aforementioned trainer of my high school board, often side-by-side with G-League and NBA referees. I am familiar enough with how NBA referees operate.
Great, a perfect source for NBA citations on the Forum

That being said, how does the NBA define a self-pass? Are there any NBA interpretations regarding such? What's the violation? Travel? Illegal dribble? Self-pass? Something else? Also, a general question, does the NBA have an "intent and purpose" clause in its rulebook, and is it similar to the NFHS clause?

Thank you in advance.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Mar 23, 2021 at 06:01pm.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 06:09pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Great, a perfect source for NBA citations on the Forum

That being said, how does the NBA define a self-pass? Are there any NBA interpretations regarding such? What's the violation? Travel? Illegal dribble? Self-pass? Something else? Also, a general question, does the NBA have an "intent and purpose" clause in its rulebook, and is it similar to the NFHS clause?

Thank you in advance.
When I'm refereeing the Pro-Am, I'll know when A1 throws a pass intended for a teammate and call a violation if A1 retrieves the pass. I don't need to know the verbiage in the rule book.

https://videorulebook.nba.com/

https://official.nba.com/rulebook/

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue Mar 23, 2021 at 06:12pm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 24, 2021, 02:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
For the situation in the OP, there is an NFHS play ruling in which B1 grabs a rebound, pivots, and attempts an outlet pass to a teammate who runs away without knowing that the pass was thrown his way. B1 runs over and collects the ball after it has bounced on the court. The ruling is that this is a legal play and that the action constitutes a dribble by B1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Errant throw / Safety base tcannizzo Softball 44 Mon Mar 05, 2012 09:25am
errant throw revisited Little Jimmy Softball 1 Sat May 29, 2010 09:28pm
Errant Throw DG Baseball 4 Fri May 01, 2009 10:12am
Sweep tags @ 1B on errant throws. IRISHMAFIA Softball 13 Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:11am
Errant TO Ref Daddy Basketball 4 Fri Oct 21, 2005 04:31am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1