![]() |
Errant Pass
A1 is ready to make a pass to A2. As A1 goes to make the pass and A2 makes a back door cut. The pass from A1 is weak and bounces several times since this occurred out front and no one is around. A1 recovers the errant pass. I say legal play.
Case play best I can do is 4.15.4.D and 4.44.3 C (b) Any more help needed? |
Had A1 already dribbled prior to this action? Can't discuss this play without that information. And that information allows you to answer your own question.
|
A1 had not dribbled it makes this a legal play.
If A1 had dribbled, it makes the play illegal. Still using same case play references? |
Let's Go To The Videotape ...
Quote:
4.44.3 SITUATION C: (a) A1 tosses the ball from one hand to the other while keeping his/her pivot foot in contact with the floor; or (b) A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it. RULING: Legal in (a), but a traveling violation in (b). In (b), since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is illegal. (9-4) |
Recovers ...
Quote:
Quote:
If "recovers" means that A1 simply "continued" dribbling the "self" bounce pass, that's also legal. |
Quote:
So that is why it matters if they have dribbled before, because a player can pick up what is essentially a dribble. And they can always pick up a fumble. Some judgment there, but if a player is fast enough to get a pass in the first place, that is pretty darn good. Peace |
Caveat: the pass can become the start of the dribble so long as it is the legal start of a dribble--the "passer" didn't lift the pivot foot before releasing the ball.
Aside: a couple of years ago, the NBA added a specific prohibition on a self-pass, which would seem to mean that in the NBA this would not be permitted. Seemed an odd add to me. |
"Passer" ...
Quote:
Quote:
Like the way so cal lurker put the word "passer" in quotes. https://tse2.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.j...=0&w=300&h=300 |
Fumble ...
Quote:
4-21: A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player’s grasp. Fumble, dribble, fumble is legal. Dribble, fumble, dribble is illegal. |
So if A1 had dribbled and then stopped with ball in 2 hands and then made the errant pass and the ball stuck the floor when no one was home and A1 is the first to touch this is a violation.
|
Violation ...
Quote:
9-5: A player must not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: A try for field goal; A touch by an opponent; A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player. |
Self Pass ...
Quote:
But I would still like to see how the NBA defines a self-pass? Steph Curry receives an inbound pass while all alone while deep in his backcourt. He catches the inbound pass with two hands and then turns around, pivoting without moving, or lifting, his pivot foot, and then immediately, with those same two hands, tosses the ball into the air, with the ball striking the court several feet in front of him, and he allows the ball to bounce a few times on the court. He then sees that he's wide open, catches up to the ball, catches it with two hands, lifts both feet, obviously including his pivot foot, and attempts a seventy-five foot jump shot, that hits nothing but net. |
Quote:
|
Intent And Purpose Clause ...
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04pm. |