The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 29, 2012, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 870
Errant throw / Safety base

With the clarification/interp from Jul 2011 that an errant throw that causes F3 to jump and come down on the non-white portion of first base now resulting in an OUT...perhaps we need a clarification to this clarification.

I would like to see it in writing that an errant throw to F3 that causes OBS with BR, specifically excluded. Just to eliminate the potential argument from crafty coaches that the same logic should apply in this sitch.

Of course, the answer is: "Coach, the rule is specific. Errant throw only applies to the safety base."
__________________
Tony
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 29, 2012, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcannizzo View Post
With the clarification/interp from Jul 2011 that an errant throw that causes F3 to jump and come down on the non-white portion of first base now resulting in an OUT...perhaps we need a clarification to this clarification.

I would like to see it in writing that an errant throw to F3 that causes OBS with BR, specifically excluded. Just to eliminate the potential argument from crafty coaches that the same logic should apply in this sitch.

Of course, the answer is: "Coach, the rule is specific. Errant throw only applies to the safety base."
I don't know why ASA had to clarify it. It was clear to begin with. I guess it didn't hurt though.

The "wreck" was once covered in the rules supplement. I believe it is still there.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 29, 2012, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by EsqUmp View Post
I don't know why ASA had to clarify it. It was clear to begin with. I guess it didn't hurt though.

The "wreck" was once covered in the rules supplement. I believe it is still there.
The clarification was a reversal in interpretation. In my PERSONAL opinion, I do not agree with it because it contradicts the purpose of the bases existence, but I will call it and teach it as they wish.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 29, 2012, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
The clarification was a reversal in interpretation. In my PERSONAL opinion, I do not agree with it because it contradicts the purpose of the bases existence, but I will call it and teach it as they wish.
+1

Hate this interp. If this is what they want, just give us a big wide bag and drop all of the rules about who can use what.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 29, 2012, 05:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 128
xtreamump

Hate this interp. If this is what they want, just give us a big wide bag and drop all of the rules about who can use what.

Alot of trouble with this here, teaching Umpires. I use KISS (Keep it simple Stupid).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 29, 2012, 06:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
The only good thing that I have seen come out of the double first base is now there are not nearly as many three foot lane violations. The runners know that they need to get to the colored base and no long have the argument "I just went out of the lane at the last second to step on the base." Other than that, the rule is a joke. It's an even bigger joke to think that a defender can retrieve a ball on an errant throw and come back to touch the colored portion. Awarding the defense with another 15 inches because of an errant throw? Ridiculous.

I don't see any double bases in boys games....
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2012, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
+1

....just give us a big wide bag and drop all of the rules about who can use what.
This is the interpretation that AZ has adopted for HS play.

Most, if not all, of the school fields do not have the double first base, but we do have some schools that play their home games and tournaments at the city fields where the double base is standard. If the double base is present, we treat it as one big base for everybody.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 01, 2012, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 128
xtreamump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
This is the interpretation that AZ has adopted for HS play.

Most, if not all, of the school fields do not have the double first base, but we do have some schools that play their home games and tournaments at the city fields where the double base is standard. If the double base is present, we treat it as one big base for everybody.
What is the Official Consensus on, BR hits a hard grounder to F6, BR beats the throw and only touches the white bag, now the F3 touches the R1 before she returns back to 1B, and says "Hey Blue she did not use the SAFETY BASE ? I figured out how to Edit, this is great, I am going to finish the night with a happy ending.

Last edited by x-tremeump; Thu Mar 01, 2012 at 10:55pm. Reason: Change Language
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 29, 2012, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcannizzo View Post
With the clarification/interp from Jul 2011 that an errant throw that causes F3 to jump and come down on the non-white portion of first base now resulting in an OUT...perhaps we need a clarification to this clarification.

I would like to see it in writing that an errant throw to F3 that causes OBS with BR, specifically excluded. Just to eliminate the potential argument from crafty coaches that the same logic should apply in this sitch.

Of course, the answer is: "Coach, the rule is specific. Errant throw only applies to the safety base."
I have, and would support, any properly called obstruction on an errant throw. The rule and interpretation allowing the defense to use the colored portion of the base ONLY for the purpose of attempting to retire the BR. It does not allow any exemption to any other rule.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safety base illiniwek8 Softball 46 Thu Jun 17, 2010 06:20am
errant throw revisited Little Jimmy Softball 1 Sat May 29, 2010 09:28pm
Errant Throw DG Baseball 4 Fri May 01, 2009 10:12am
Double base / errant throw redux Dakota Softball 3 Tue Aug 06, 2002 09:40pm
Double base, errant throw issue IRISHMAFIA Softball 8 Mon Jul 08, 2002 11:30am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1