The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2021, 10:36am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,370
Fun With Creating Separation …

Does offensive player foul before catching the ball? On an inbounds pass, player receiving ball contacts her opponent. Was this legal incidental contact? Was this a team control foul?

https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...LZzSadAA%3D%3D

Two choices: This is a team control foul. This is incidental contact.

My comment: This is a team control foul. White #11 gained a slight advantage after using both of her arms to create separation between herself and Black #12.

Thoughts?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2021, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
The contact with her hands is borderline. Why not make it easy on yourself and just call the traveling violation?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2021, 11:24am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,370
Dead Ball Travel ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The contact with her hands is borderline. Why not make it easy on yourself and just call the traveling violation?
Borderline? Agree.

Missed the travel. Good eye Nevadaref. Let's see if IAABO picks that up in its play commentary.

(In my defense, the ball would have become dead with the team control foul and one can't travel with a dead ball.)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Mar 01, 2021 at 12:26pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2021, 01:16pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,553
It probably is a foul and would have no issue if called.

Not so sure about the travel violation, not on that movement, but that is me.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 01, 2021, 01:57pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,370
Drags Along The Floor ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Not so sure about the travel violation, not on that movement, but that is me.
White #11 catches (possesses) the ball with her left foot on the floor, and then subsequently her right foot touches the floor, making her left foot the pivot foot, which she subsequently lifts and drags along the floor.

However, the Trail was right there and had a great look and he passed on a call, so a no call may be plausible.

Two simple plays (so I thought) posted today, and there's a lot to see, calls, and no calls.

Basketball officiating is really hard. Good basketball officiating is really, really hard.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Mar 01, 2021 at 06:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 07, 2021, 11:18am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,370
IAABO Survey Says …

Disclaimer: For IAABO eyes only. Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO International interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.

https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...LZzSadAA%3D%3D

IAABO International Play Commentary: Correct Answer: This is a team control foul.

In this play, let's think about the mindset of the player receiving the ball. She reaches out and slightly contacts the defender before receiving the ball. Why do you suppose she did it? In her mind, do you think she needed that slight contact to ensure she would be able to get the ball and prevent the defender from deflecting the pass?

Keep in mind, the severity of contact is not the primary factor if a foul occurs on this play. Was the defender inhibited by the contact? Did the offensive player gain an advantage by the contact? If this is the case, this is a pushing foul on the offensive team, and a team control foul should be assessed. This is the ruling 65% of respondents stated was the correct ruling.

Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: This is a team control foul 66% (including me). This is incidental contact 34%.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating a Pregame bballref3966 Basketball 11 Sun Oct 04, 2015 05:31am
Seeking help in creating video clips ZonaZebra Basketball 15 Sat Aug 08, 2015 12:27am
Pause after Separation Manny A Softball 7 Thu Apr 04, 2013 08:13pm
Creating an association kletis55 General / Off-Topic 2 Tue Dec 12, 2006 08:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1