The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 27, 2021, 11:29am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,540
IAABO Survey Says …

Disclaimer: For IAABO eyes only. Below is not a NFHS interpretation, it's only an IAABO International interpretation which obviously doesn't mean a hill of beans to most members of this Forum.

https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...STlfYcts2E.mp4

IAABO International Play Commentary: Correct Answer: This is a blocking foul.

It is not legal to use hands on an opponent, which in any way inhibits the freedom of movement. (4-24-5, 10-7-3) Green #1 receives a pass near the division line. The defender in white immediately places two hands on the ball handler. Placing two hands on the player constitutes a foul when committed against a ball handler/dribbler. (10-7-12a) This initial contact is ruled incidental.

As Green #1 begins his dribble, the defender in the white jersey places his left hand on the dribbler. Placing and keeping a hand on or contacting the dribbler more than once with the same hand or alternating hands is a foul. (10-7-12c, d) This contact was also incorrectly ruled incidental on the play.

When Green #1 initially caught the ball, the Trail official's view was momentarily obstructed by the other players in the midcourt area. The Center official did not have an “open look” between the dribbler and defender. Once the ball entered the frontcourt, the ball was in the Center official’s Primary Coverage Area (PCA). Center officials need to try not to release into the frontcourt too soon. Had he remained and read the play, a position adjustment toward the division line would have put him in a better position to see the contact in his PCA. As the play developed, the Trail had a pretty good angle to see the contact on the dribbler, and it appeared to raise his arm to rule a foul but changed his mind.

Officials need to remain diligent in enforcing the rules outlined in 10-7-12 to ensure the ball handler’s freedom of movement is not inhibited by illegal contact.


Here is the breakdown of the IAABO members that commented on the video: This is a blocking foul 45%; This is incidental contact 40% (including me); This is a player control foul 15%.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Feb 27, 2021 at 11:34am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Incidental Contact kjbco Baseball 24 Mon Jun 13, 2016 07:54am
Incidental Contact potato Basketball 26 Wed Mar 27, 2013 12:19pm
Incidental contact MPLAHE Basketball 40 Wed Aug 30, 2006 09:29pm
Incidental contact stewcall Basketball 19 Fri Feb 07, 2003 12:20pm
Incidental contact? Paul LeBoutillier Basketball 9 Tue Jan 21, 2003 09:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1