The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2021, 03:25pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,358
Fun With A Block And Maybe A Charge ...

https://storage.googleapis.com/refqu...%2B1Hd5g%3D%3D

Here's my comment: White #20’s push from behind came first, followed by Blue #5’s player control foul. The ball remained live after White #20’s push from behind due to continuous motion and an airborne shooter, so Blue #5’s player control foul occurred during a live ball, and should be charged, perhaps as false double foul (fouls by both teams, the second of which occurs before the clock is started following the first, and such that at least one of the attributes of a double foul is absent).

IAABO only give two choices: block, or player control foul.

Early comments from IAABO members seem to be leaning toward a player control foul, probably by, at least, a three, or four, to one margin.

Thoughts?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Jan 29, 2021 at 03:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2021, 04:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 378
That PC foul was gonna happen regardless, and I'm not sure the push from behind is enough for me to not be able to sell PC. If those are my two choices, I'll agree with the call that was made.
__________________
Dan R.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2021, 01:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danvrapp View Post
That PC foul was gonna happen regardless, and I'm not sure the push from behind is enough for me to not be able to sell PC. If those are my two choices, I'll agree with the call that was made.
Agree....and I'm not even sure he was really pushed from behind. More of a touch.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2021, 11:57am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,358
Pondering A False Double Foul ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
... not even sure he was really pushed from behind. More of a touch.
Certainly not a gigantic push, but the shooter was hit in the head by the defenders's elbow. Certainly could have been ruled incidental contact. One won't get any argument from me.

Ponder this. Forget about the player control foul for now (assume defender was never there), was the contact by the defender from behind alone enough to charge a foul and have the shooter shoot two free throws?

The Lead thought so, and made the "push from behind" call. Was he in good position to do so? Did the Center have a better look, and did he pass on the "push from behind" call as incidental contact, or was he more concerned with how Blue #32 was wearing his mask?

Now ponder this. Once the the "push from behind" call was made (as it actually was, correctly or incorrectly), doesn't one also have to call the "easy" player control foul? The ball was still live (continuous motion, airborne shooter) when this player control contact occurred.

Does one ignore the "easy" player control contact because ruling a false double foul in this situation is overly officious and would be difficult to explain to a complaining coach?

Further more, what if the ball had gone in the basket (yikes), and a false double foul had been called, creating an instant dead ball? No basket, and two free throws? Have fun explaining that to a complaining coach as you invite him to take a seat on the bench, or on the cold bus in the parking lot. Maybe both coaches?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jan 30, 2021 at 02:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2021, 12:23pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,358
What If Severely Pushed ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Once the the "push from behind" call was made (as it actually was, correctly or incorrectly), doesn't one also have to call the "easy" player control foul? The ball was still live (continuous motion, airborne shooter) when this player control contact occurred.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danvrapp View Post
That PC foul was gonna happen regardless ...
What if the "push from behind" foul was so severe (which it definitely wasn't) that it changed the path of the shooter who then charged into the defender (he probably would have missed contacting the defender had he not been severely pushed)? If so, would it then be appropriate and correct to ignore the player control live ball contact? Citation? Intent and purpose?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jan 30, 2021 at 02:46pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2021, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
perhaps as false double foul (fouls by both teams, the second of which occurs before the clock is started following the first, and such that at least one of the attributes of a double foul is absent).
I suppose by rule you could call according to 4.19.9.

In practice I'm either ruling that the contact from behind caused the PC foul, so not calling it, or (more likely) calling that portion of the play a clean block and ruling just the PC foul.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2021, 01:36pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,358
Contact From Behind Caused The Player Control Contact ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
What if the "push from behind" foul was so severe (which it definitely wasn't) that it changed the path of the shooter who then charged into the defender (he probably would have missed contacting the defender had he not been severely pushed)? If so, would it then be appropriate and correct to ignore the player control live ball contact? Citation? Intent and purpose?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
... ruling that the contact from behind caused the PC foul, so not calling it ...
No argument from me. Intent and purpose? Or do you have a better citation?

On the other hand ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
More of a touch.
A "touch" (so slight that some may not have called the push from behind a foul and just ruled it incidental contact) caused the player control contact?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danvrapp View Post
That PC foul was gonna happen regardless ...
This is a great play to dissect. There's a lot going on here.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jan 30, 2021 at 02:46pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2021, 02:18pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,358
Not Your Father's Classic Blarge Double Foul ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
This is a great play to dissect. There's a lot going on here.
Imagine (didn't happen here) if one official had ruled a "push from behind" foul and another had ruled a player control foul, not the classic "blarge" double foul where both gave opposing preliminary signals, but in this case where neither gave a preliminary signal other than a fist in the air, and they got together to discuss a possible false double foul. "I saw your push but then he smashed into and took out my guy during a live ball. I saw that player control foul coming all the way from here to downtown". And then the third official, Danvrapp, enters the conversation and adds, "That PC foul was gonna happen regardless".



I remember this from Miss Accurso's Biology II class.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jan 30, 2021 at 04:12pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 31, 2021, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,600
Fun With A Block And Maybe A Charge ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Imagine (didn't happen here) if one official had ruled a "push from behind" foul and another had ruled a player control foul, not the classic "blarge" double foul where both gave opposing preliminary signals, but in this case where neither gave a preliminary signal other than a fist in the air, and they got together to discuss a possible false double foul. "I saw your push but then he smashed into and took out my guy during a live ball. I saw that player control foul coming all the way from here to downtown".
Agree with all of this. No prelim signals = great to talk over with your partner(s) to figure out what happened first, or whether the push wasnt really a foul worth calling.

But what if there were two distinct and robust preliminary signals here (one for a push, one for a PC)? If this were a blarge scenario, the case books for NFHS and NCAA-M basically say you have to go with a double foul. So by extension, in this scenario, would you have to go with a simultaneous foul?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 31, 2021, 09:19am
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,559
Billy, not an obvious push from behind first. And NOT Leads call the backside defender is either Trail or Slot (if working 3-person).

Call the elephant (the run over) not the ant.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 31, 2021, 10:55am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,358
Elephant In The Room ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
... not an obvious push from behind first. Call the elephant (the run over) not the ant.
Agree this was a very large elephant and a very small ant.

Most of my questions and comments are regarding what happens after the "push from beheld" (correct, or incorrect) call was made (as it actually was in the video) in light of the fact that there was such an obvious "elephant" (player control contact).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 31, 2021, 11:04am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,358
Two Separate Fouls At Two Different Times ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
But what if there were two distinct and robust preliminary signals here (one for a push, one for a PC)? If this were a blarge scenario, the case books for NFHS ... basically say you have to go with a double foul ...
We're not talking about one "contact event" here, like the famous casebook play with two opposing rulings on one "contact event".

Wouldn't a discussion between officials come to the conclusion that these were two separate fouls at two different times (second foul during a continuous motion airborne shooter live ball) and thus a false double foul?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 31, 2021, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,600
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
We're not talking about one "contact event" here, like the famous casebook play with two opposing rulings on one "contact event".

Wouldn't a discussion between officials come to the conclusion that these were two separate fouls at two different times (second foul during a continuous motion airborne shooter live ball) and thus a false double foul?

That is certainly one way to look at it. When I was talking about a simultaneous foul, I was taking liberty from the definition of such that allows the two fouls to happen at approximately the same time.

But if you were to go false double here (again, this is all hypothetical and on the basis of two emphatic signals that would be hard for a crew to extricate itself from), that could certainly be appropriate (and one of the few times a false double foul did not have at least one technical foul involved). Now just imagine if the offensive team were in the bonus; theyd shoot a bonus with the lane cleared followed by the defensive team getting a backcourt throw-in.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 31, 2021, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,372
It's much the same as previous discussions we've had here before on when does a blarge become a blarge.

Nothing good can come from discussing it further.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 31, 2021, 03:24pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,358
Always Listen To bob ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Nothing good can come from discussing it further.
Fun's over. Thanks for playing. bob says it's time for everybody to go home.

I agree. Street lights are starting to come on.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What do you have (block/charge)? ballgame99 Basketball 30 Wed Feb 08, 2012 04:59pm
Block or charge Rita C Basketball 16 Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:21pm
Block/Charge jcash Basketball 55 Wed Mar 24, 2004 05:54pm
Block/Charge drinkeii Basketball 16 Thu Dec 19, 2002 01:05am
block/charge wolfe44 Basketball 11 Thu Dec 12, 2002 09:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1