The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 06, 2020, 12:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Finally, this was a dead ball going to Texas Tech. They were getting the ball and the penalty for an unsporting T which is a Class A technical foul, is simply POI. The ball was going to be on the end line, that is where they put the ball after the free throws.
Was it? Sure looked to me like like the taunt itself took place before the blocked shot touched OOB. Even the official’s signal began before it did.

Houston had the arrow. Tech got the throw-in. Just sayin.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 06, 2020, 04:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
Was it? Sure looked to me like like the taunt itself took place before the blocked shot touched OOB. Even the official’s signal began before it did.

Houston had the arrow. Tech got the throw-in. Just sayin.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It wasn't....the ball was still live when the infraction that drew the T occurred. Should have gone to the arrow.

Now, imagine if they had called a foul on the first defender....there was certainly enough contact there from a player without LGP that it wouldn't be a surprise to see one. If that had been called, the ball would have been dead by the time of the T since the try would end on the block.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 06, 2020, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
Are we sure the T wasn't for grabbing the net?
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".

Last edited by thumpferee; Sun Dec 06, 2020 at 11:48am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 06, 2020, 12:12pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
Are we sure the T wasn't for grabbing the net?
Yes, because that would have been a Class B Technical foul, which comes to be one free throw instead of 2 that they actually shot. So unless they kicked that part of the rule, then that would be a stretch. I'm sorry, I see nothing with the net that would warrant a T either. He did not use the net to get or get any advantage whatsoever. The net touching was very inadvertent and he did not need help to block the shot by using the net. I would think if that was the case he would use the ring.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 06, 2020, 12:07pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
Was it? Sure looked to me like like the taunt itself took place before the blocked shot touched OOB. Even the official’s signal began before it did.

Houston had the arrow. Tech got the throw-in. Just sayin.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
We can always wait for the play to end to call a technical foul. As a matter of fact this was talked about in the NCAA meeting specifically if I recall. I have no issues with a T being given after the player is over. I think otherwise is not usually normal practice. Let the play finish and call the T. Not stopping play just to call a T when this play had not ended. And that used to be in the NF casebook as well. Not sure what the hurry is other than to split hairs so we can enforce other rules.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 06, 2020, 12:49pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,524
Withhold Whistle ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Let the play finish and call the T. Not stopping play just to call a T when this play had not ended. And that used to be in the NF casebook as well.
Still there.

10.5.1 SITUATION F: A1 is driving toward the basket for an apparent goal when the official, while trailing the play advancing in the direction in which the ball is being advanced, is cursed by the head coach or bench personnel of Team B. How should the official handle this situation? RULING: The official shall withhold blowing the whistle until A1 has either made or missed the shot. The official shall then sound the whistle and assess the Team B head coach or bench personnel with a technical foul. If the official judges the act to be flagrant, the offender shall be ejected. If A’s coach or bench personnel was the offender, the whistle shall be sounded immediately when the unsporting act occurs. (10-4-1a)

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 06, 2020, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
We can always wait for the play to end to call a technical foul. As a matter of fact this was talked about in the NCAA meeting specifically if I recall. I have no issues with a T being given after the player is over. I think otherwise is not usually normal practice. Let the play finish and call the T. Not stopping play just to call a T when this play had not ended. And that used to be in the NF casebook as well. Not sure what the hurry is other than to split hairs so we can enforce other rules.

Peace
The case play you refer to is where calling the T would take a way an obvious scoring opportunity. That isn't applicable here. Call the game as it happens, not manipulate it unnecessarily just to make it easier. The T occurred during a live ball not in team control, call it as such. It isn't that difficult.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 06, 2020, 03:07pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The case play you refer to is where calling the T would take a way an obvious scoring opportunity. That isn't applicable here. Call the game as it happens, not manipulate it unnecessarily just to make it easier. The T occurred during a live ball not in team control, call it as such. It isn't that difficult.
I think people are doing a lot of speculating and twisting themselves into a box. I think this T is clearly what was said right after the block. I have no issues with the way this was handled. Again I think this is a huge assumption at this point as to anything other than the end of the game. Again, I think people just want to be super perfect with things they do not know what was ruled. Again I am good with the situation.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 06, 2020, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The case play you refer to is where calling the T would take a way an obvious scoring opportunity. That isn't applicable here. Call the game as it happens, not manipulate it unnecessarily just to make it easier. The T occurred during a live ball not in team control, call it as such. It isn't that difficult.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I think people are doing a lot of speculating and twisting themselves into a box. I think this T is clearly what was said right after the block. I have no issues with the way this was handled. Again I think this is a huge assumption at this point as to anything other than the end of the game. Again, I think people just want to be super perfect with things they do not know what was ruled. Again I am good with the situation.

Ok so if this were a debate contest critical of argumentative coherence, sorry JRut....love your work....but Camron wins this round hands down.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 06, 2020, 03:25pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
Ok so if this were a debate contest critical of argumentative coherence, sorry JRut....love your work....but Camron wins this round hands down.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Not trying to win an argument, I find this discussion extremely assumptive to say for sure what the T was for. I am going to try to find out, but I can bet money that was just resulted in the actions after the blocked shot. If I get different information I will clarify this as I did in the WVU-Gonzaga situation.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 06, 2020, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Not trying to win an argument, I find this discussion extremely assumptive to say for sure what the T was for. I am going to try to find out, but I can bet money that was just resulted in the actions after the blocked shot. If I get different information I will clarify this as I did in the WVU-Gonzaga situation.

Peace

At least as far as Cam and I are concerned, we don’t care about hat the T was for (someone else in the thread pondered that). Regardless of what it was for, and regardless of whether it was before or after the blocked shot, the calling official began to signal before the ball was dead. So whatever his signal was reflecting must have likewise occurred before the ball was dead.

The POI should have been an AP throw-in for Houston. The only alternative explanation is that whatever the T was for occurred before the try was released. But I seriously doubt that.

Going back to my original question, I wonder what the national coordinator or the average commissioner would want to see happen here? Check the monitor to make sure you get the POI right, or treat it as if the foul occurred after the ball was OOB like everyone in the building probably just assumed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Texas Tech vs Texas last shot Randa16 Basketball 24 Fri Feb 02, 2018 01:34pm
Texas vs Texas tech (Video) Texref Basketball 8 Sun Jan 18, 2015 12:53pm
Taunting T: Texas A&M/Kansas State SC Official Basketball 21 Fri Dec 26, 2014 02:46am
Texas vs Texas Tech Play carldog Basketball 7 Tue Jan 27, 2004 04:56pm
Texas/Texas Tech officials johnSandlin Basketball 4 Wed Jan 16, 2002 01:05am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1