![]() |
|
|
|||
On first play, yes, that's a backcourt as there was PC&TC, TC did not change, offense was last to touch in FC, and first to touch in BC.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
On this play, does it matter that the ball was loose / deflected from the BC? Does NCAAM require LGP before the offensive player leaves the floor or before he starts any upward motion? imo, These plays are easy BC and PC in FED and NCAAW, |
|
|||
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Clip 1:
I have a shooting foul on Blue 5 before the backcourt play. As the rule is written, that is a BCV in NCAA-M. There was no change in team control and 9-12.5 only applies to defensive deflections in the frontcourt. If the spirit/intent of the rule is for this play to be legal, Art Hyland needs to issue an interpretation and the rule needs updated in the offseason. I am not faulting the crew for passing on it because it is an odd play. In FED, there is no room for debate. The transition play is a clear PC foul. CC. Clip 2: When I watched it in real time I had a block and that's likely what I'd call. In slo-mo it looks like the defender is legal before the shooter goes airborne. Right foot may be in the RA but it's very close. I had to mute the sound to avoid Bilas's bloviating. Last edited by SC Official; Thu Dec 03, 2020 at 09:13am. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Thu Dec 03, 2020 at 10:49am. |
|
|||
Does "foot on the line" equate to "in the RA?" If he is on the line, its by a very miniscule amount. From the angle that the L has, I'm not positive he would have known for sure anyway.
__________________
Dan R. |
|
|||
As the BCV rule is written, it would indeed be a BCV.
However, I'm going to suggest that the intent of the rule would be otherwise. The rule is written for the common situation, not some bizarre thing like this. I'm OK with a person not calling a violation here in NCAA as the clear intent of the rule was to not penalize the offensive team for a lose ball that is loose because of a defensive bat/deflection.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Update ruling: Email with JD and Art Hyland
I wanted to update my correspondence with the NCA on this play.
I emailed JD Collings a few days ago looking for clarification. He emailed me back and said that he would pass this off to Art Hyland in the email to answer as to whether this was a BC violation in NCAA Rules. Art then responded yesterday and said that he felt this was not a BC violation. Mr. Hyland said that he felt that the rules did not consider this situation to take place in the BC and then go to the FC. So as a result this is basically in the spirit of the rules that were written in the past. So this was ruled properly and was not called a violation and the NCAA supports that position. I would not be surprised if there is an editorial change or either case plays that will support that ruling by Art. But I thought we should know what is proper here. Also, this is under NF rules still a BC violation by all accounts as team control was still in the hands of the WVU team IMO. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
West Virginia vs Maryland (Video 2/2) | deecee | Basketball | 31 | Wed Mar 25, 2015 11:16am |
UConn v. West Virginia | APG | Basketball | 5 | Sun Mar 11, 2012 08:22am |
Pittsburgh/West Virginia last night | fullor30 | Basketball | 1 | Fri Feb 08, 2008 09:31am |
Georgetown vs West Virginia | Jerrylh | Basketball | 13 | Wed Jan 30, 2008 07:09am |
inbound violation virginia-gonzaga | number 26 | Basketball | 10 | Sat Mar 17, 2001 10:07am |