The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 20, 2020, 12:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Goaltending is when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, outside the imaginary cylinder above the ring, and has the possibility of entering the basket.

(Or a player touches the ball outside the cylinder during a free-throw attempt.)

Situation: Team A trails Team B 67 to 66 with 0.4 seconds left in the fourth period. A1 makes a throwin pass. Ball is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, outside the imaginary cylinder above the ring, has an excellent chance of entering the basket, and the ball is swatted to the floor by B1, followed by time expiring and the horn sounding in front of Team A's home crowd of 1,500 vociferous fans.

Whatcha got?
Basket interference, score 2 points for A, A wins, game over. After awaarding the points for the basket interference by B, get out of Dodge.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 20, 2020, 06:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
Basket interference, score 2 points for A, A wins, game over. After awaarding the points for the basket interference by B, get out of Dodge.
Why would the game be over if it were BI?

(edited to clarify)

Last edited by bob jenkins; Fri Nov 20, 2020 at 09:48am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 21, 2020, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,178
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Why would the game be over if it were BI?

(edited to clarify)
1-point difference. If a ball legally enters the basket, and it is not a try, 2 points are awarded, even if the ball was released from outside the 3-point line. If A is down by 1 point and is awarded 2 points, they win by 1 point.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 21, 2020, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,178
If the ball was illegally touched by B, causing basket interference, the game clock should not have started. B would receive the ball with a throw-in from the endline with time remaining due to the awarded points. If B legally swatted the ball while it was outside the cylinder, game over, B wins.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 21, 2020, 07:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
If the ball was illegally touched by B, causing basket interference, the game clock should not have started. B would receive the ball with a throw-in from the endline with time remaining due to the awarded points. If B legally swatted the ball while it was outside the cylinder, game over, B wins.
That is incorrect under NFHS rules. A touching which causes BI needs to be timed. You cannot say that it occurs with no time coming off the clock.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2020, 01:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
That is incorrect under NFHS rules. A touching which causes BI needs to be timed. You cannot say that it occurs with no time coming off the clock.
I wouldn't quite say that. I would say that it "may" be timed. If the official administering the throw is also the one calling the BI, they'd never chop time in, thus it is possible no time would come off the clock. That would be valid since the instant it is touched to cause BI it also causes the ball to become dead. However, it is also possible that two different officials may be involved where one indicates time should start and the other whistles the BI causing it to stop. It wouldn't be an error for the timer to start and stop it in that case.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2020, 02:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I wouldn't quite say that. I would say that it "may" be timed. If the official administering the throw is also the one calling the BI, they'd never chop time in, thus it is possible no time would come off the clock. That would be valid since the instant it is touched to cause BI it also causes the ball to become dead. However, it is also possible that two different officials may be involved where one indicates time should start and the other whistles the BI causing it to stop. It wouldn't be an error for the timer to start and stop it in that case.
If I’m the administering official, I’m chopping the clock and then blowing the whistle for the violation. Whatever time elapses before the timer can stop the clock is reasonable.

I believe that the NCAA rule is that a minimum of 0.3 seconds must come off the clock.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2020, 10:02am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Citations ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
A touching which causes BI needs to be timed. You cannot say that it occurs with no time coming off the clock.
In regard to a throwin situation, I respectfully disagree.

If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock must be started when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower.

It is illegal for a player to touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. It is illegal for a player to touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is illegal for a player to touch the ball outside the cylinder while reaching through the basket from below.

These three examples of basket interference all involve illegal touches.

In a throwin situation, clock should not have started, and it should be reset if it was erroneously started.

Nevadaref: Any rulebook, casebook, or annual interpretation citations to further your cause?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Nov 22, 2020 at 02:33pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2020, 10:31am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Timing ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Nevadaref: Any rulebook, casebook, or annual interpretation citations to further your cause?
Unfortunately, this casebook play doesn't give us any information about timing:

9.11.2 SITUATION C: Since it is a violation for thrower A1 to throw the ball directly into the basket from out of bounds, what happens if B1 touches the throw-in pass while the ball is in the cylinder above A’s basket? RULING: B1 is charged with basket interference and a two-point goal is scored. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in anywhere along the end lines as after a scored goal except the official shall place the ball at the disposal of a player of Team B for a throw-in from any point outside the end line. (4-6)

1996 NFHS Interpretations
SITUATION #16: Since it is a violation for thrower Al to throw the ball directly into the basket from out-of-bounds, what happens, if Bi touches the throw in pass while the ball is in the cylinder above A’s basket?
RULING: Bl is charged with basket interference and a 2-point goal is scored. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in anywhere along the end line as after a scored goal except the official shall place the ball at, the disposal of a player of Team B, for a throw-in from any point outside the end line. (9-2-7; 9414)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Nov 22, 2020 at 11:06am.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2020, 02:08pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
More Illegal Touches ...

If play is started or resumed by a jump ball, the clock must be started when the tossed ball is legally touched.

It is illegal for a jumper to touch the ball on the way up. It is illegal for a jumper to catch (as the first touch) the ball.

Clock should not have started, and it should be reset if it was erroneously started.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Nov 22, 2020 at 02:32pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2020, 02:13pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Clock Erroneously Started ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
In regard to a throwin situation, I respectfully disagree. If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock must be started when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower.
On a throwin, if the first player to touch the ball after the throwin pass is made is out of bounds, that's an illegal touch.

Clock should not have started, and it should be reset if it was erroneously started.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2020, 03:39pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
In regard to a throwin situation, I respectfully disagree.

If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock must be started when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower.

It is illegal for a player to touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. It is illegal for a player to touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is illegal for a player to touch the ball outside the cylinder while reaching through the basket from below.

These three examples of basket interference all involve illegal touches.

In a throwin situation, clock should not have started, and it should be reset if it was erroneously started.

Nevadaref: Any rulebook, casebook, or annual interpretation citations to further your cause?
I wouldn't expect any answer in regards to a citation, but I would expect a lot of lawyering.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2020, 10:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
I’m with Billy. The ball must be touched legally for the clock to start and the throw-in to end. Touching the ball within the cylinder is not a legal touch. If time runs off the clock in my game we are correcting it.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2020, 10:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
I’m with Billy. The ball must be touched legally for the clock to start and the throw-in to end. Touching the ball within the cylinder is not a legal touch. If time runs off the clock in my game we are correcting it.

Even if you could argue the touch was legal, the violation is simultaneous to it. That means no time elapses.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 20, 2020, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
Basket interference, score 2 points for A, A wins, game over. After awaarding the points for the basket interference by B, get out of Dodge.
This is nothing. Ball is outside the cylinder, so no BI. Clock starts on B1’s legal touch and the game is over. Run off the court ... even in Massachusetts!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Four Strikes and You're Out teebob21 Softball 2 Mon Feb 16, 2015 05:59pm
OC strikes again ChrisSportsFan Basketball 21 Wed Jun 29, 2005 06:47am
more on dropped third strikes refjef40 Softball 6 Mon May 20, 2002 01:00am
Fox strikes again Mark Padgett Basketball 13 Fri May 17, 2002 12:37pm
TWO STRIKES YOUR OUT Del-Blue Softball 6 Tue Apr 23, 2002 10:00am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1