![]() |
|
|
|||
Goaltending ...
Goaltending is when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, outside the imaginary cylinder above the ring, and has the possibility of entering the basket.
(Or a player touches the ball outside the cylinder during a free-throw attempt.) Situation: Team A trails Team B 67 to 66 with 0.4 seconds left in the fourth period. A1 makes a throwin pass. Ball is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, outside the imaginary cylinder above the ring, has an excellent chance of entering the basket, and the ball is swatted to the floor by B1, followed by time expiring and the horn sounding in front of Team A's home crowd of 1,500 vociferous fans. Whatcha got?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Nov 19, 2020 at 01:24pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
(edited to clarify) Last edited by bob jenkins; Fri Nov 20, 2020 at 09:48am. |
|
|||
1-point difference. If a ball legally enters the basket, and it is not a try, 2 points are awarded, even if the ball was released from outside the 3-point line. If A is down by 1 point and is awarded 2 points, they win by 1 point.
|
|
|||
If the ball was illegally touched by B, causing basket interference, the game clock should not have started. B would receive the ball with a throw-in from the endline with time remaining due to the awarded points. If B legally swatted the ball while it was outside the cylinder, game over, B wins.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I wouldn't quite say that. I would say that it "may" be timed. If the official administering the throw is also the one calling the BI, they'd never chop time in, thus it is possible no time would come off the clock. That would be valid since the instant it is touched to cause BI it also causes the ball to become dead. However, it is also possible that two different officials may be involved where one indicates time should start and the other whistles the BI causing it to stop. It wouldn't be an error for the timer to start and stop it in that case.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Citations ???
Quote:
If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock must be started when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower. It is illegal for a player to touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. It is illegal for a player to touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is illegal for a player to touch the ball outside the cylinder while reaching through the basket from below. These three examples of basket interference all involve illegal touches. In a throwin situation, clock should not have started, and it should be reset if it was erroneously started. Nevadaref: Any rulebook, casebook, or annual interpretation citations to further your cause?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Nov 22, 2020 at 02:33pm. |
|
|||
I’m with Billy. The ball must be touched legally for the clock to start and the throw-in to end. Touching the ball within the cylinder is not a legal touch. If time runs off the clock in my game we are correcting it.
|
|
|||
This is nothing. Ball is outside the cylinder, so no BI. Clock starts on B1’s legal touch and the game is over. Run off the court ... even in Massachusetts!
|
|
|||
The Lights Went Out In Massachusetts (The Bee Gees, 1967) ...
Funny.
ODog: Care to explain for the newer Forum members who are not from Massachusetts who may fail to see any humor in this?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
All Hail To Massachusetts ...
Quote:
Massachusetts officials have to observe the post-game handshake lines before leaving the visual confines of the court. I also believe that they lack the power to issue technical fouls during this time period.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Other than touching the ball outside the cylinder while reaching through the basket from below, can you EVER have BI when the ball is outside the cylinder?
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Four Strikes and You're Out | teebob21 | Softball | 2 | Mon Feb 16, 2015 05:59pm |
OC strikes again | ChrisSportsFan | Basketball | 21 | Wed Jun 29, 2005 06:47am |
more on dropped third strikes | refjef40 | Softball | 6 | Mon May 20, 2002 01:00am |
Fox strikes again | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 13 | Fri May 17, 2002 12:37pm |
TWO STRIKES YOUR OUT | Del-Blue | Softball | 6 | Tue Apr 23, 2002 10:00am |