The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2020, 06:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 17
Odd Play

Team B scored a field goal. Team A inbounds the ball. Team B is screaming for a time out but it's not granted. Team A throws the ball to the official. Who's inbounds. They catch the ball and call a ref meeting. What's the next step?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2020, 07:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,647
The official is part of the floor. A ball that touches an official inbounds remains live.

If Team B requested the timeout after the ball was already at A's disposal following the made goal, it was correctly not granted.

Last edited by SC Official; Mon Feb 03, 2020 at 07:24am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2020, 07:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by kzooref View Post
Team B scored a field goal. Team A inbounds the ball. Team B is screaming for a time out but it's not granted. Team A throws the ball to the official. Who's inbounds. They catch the ball and call a ref meeting. What's the next step?
If the official stopped play after catching the ball while inbounds, the game would be resumed at the point of interruption. Since Team A still had team control, that means a throw-in for Team A at the nearest out of bounds spot.
While the ball is dead, the officials might as well ask Team B if they still want the time-out, which could now be granted before resuming play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2020, 08:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
If the official stopped play after catching the ball while inbounds, the game would be resumed at the point of interruption. Since Team A still had team control, that means a throw-in for Team A at the nearest out of bounds spot.
While the ball is dead, the officials might as well ask Team B if they still want the time-out, which could now be granted before resuming play.
Wouldn't the POI be the original throw-in (since it never ended)?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2020, 08:56am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
If the official stopped play after catching the ball while inbounds, the game would be resumed at the point of interruption. Since Team A still had team control, that means a throw-in for Team A at the nearest out of bounds spot.
While the ball is dead, the officials might as well ask Team B if they still want the time-out, which could now be granted before resuming play.
POI would be Team A's throw-in, which had not yet ended, not team control by Team A.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2020, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Wouldn't the POI be the original throw-in (since it never ended)?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
POI would be Team A's throw-in, which had not yet ended, not team control by Team A.
I read the OP’s statement “Team A inbounds the ball” as the throw-in being completed. I understand how you could interpret it as the throw-in was still in progress, but if that were the case then better wording would have been, “Team A is inbounding the ball.”

We will have to let him clarify.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2020, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 979
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I read the OP’s statement “Team A inbounds the ball” as the throw-in being completed. I understand how you could interpret it as the throw-in was still in progress, but if that were the case then better wording would have been, “Team A is inbounding the ball.”

We will have to let him clarify.
Agree.

Sounds like A1 threw it into A2, hearing the TO, was confused and threw the ball to the ref who caught the ball.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 03, 2020, 10:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
Agree.

Sounds like A1 threw it into A2, hearing the TO, was confused and threw the ball to the ref who caught the ball.
That's the way I understood the play as well.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 04, 2020, 08:52am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by kzooref View Post
Team B scored a field goal. Team A inbounds the ball. Team B is screaming for a time out but it's not granted. Team A throws the ball to the official. Who's inbounds. They catch the ball and call a ref meeting. What's the next step?
Great Kazoo, we need you to please clarify your play. Did the player throwing in the ball throw it to the official, or did a player inbounds throw the ball to the official?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 04, 2020, 09:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Great Kazoo, we need you to please clarify your play.
Not really, imo, because both possibilities have been answered..

*IF* the ball was inbounded and then thrown to the official --POI is where the official caught the ball.

*IF* the inbounder threw the ball to the official -- POI is the original throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 04, 2020, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Not really, imo, because both possibilities have been answered..

*IF* the ball was inbounded and then thrown to the official --POI is where the official caught the ball.

*IF* the inbounder threw the ball to the official -- POI is the original throw-in.
And either way, team A gets the ball and, in all likelihood, it is on the endline if the ball was thrown to the old lead (new trail).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 04, 2020, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 979
Would you grant the TO in both?
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 04, 2020, 02:05pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
Would you grant the TO in both?
Team B could re-request the time out at that point.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 04, 2020, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
And either way, team A gets the ball and, in all likelihood, it is on the endline if the ball was thrown to the old lead (new trail).
One difference would be that in one case, I'd think running the endline would be allowed whereas the other would be a "spot."
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 05, 2020, 11:16am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 18,220
Funny ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Great Kazoo
I'm pretty sure that this humor was lost for many Forum members. One has to be of a certain age to appreciate this.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Holding play during a pass play for a first down Shooter Football 4 Sat Sep 21, 2019 09:11am
Play by PLay of All Calls to Close games. . . Pantherdreams Basketball 16 Sat Mar 07, 2015 12:56pm
What states play/don't play middle school football Texas Aggie Football 16 Sun Jun 22, 2014 01:02pm
Public Address announcer/ Play by play Terrapins Fan Basketball 34 Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:20pm
Force play or time play? Rita C Baseball 44 Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:12am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1