The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 10, 2019, 04:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
a. illegal
b. illegal
c. legal if dribble was interrupted

In a and b when you say A1 "retrieves" the ball, I have to assume he has control. Pushing or throwing the ball to the court constitutes a dribble. Returning to the court, "grabbing" the ball and dribbling again would be a violation. He could "continue" the dribble as in c without violating.
a. Is legal. Player retrieves ball..momentum carrying him OB. Player pushes ball to floor. That’s all it says. Legal.

Your applying facts of sit b. No returning to court, grabbing ball and dribbling in sit a.

Last edited by BigCat; Tue Dec 10, 2019 at 04:29pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 10, 2019, 04:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
a. Is legal. Player retrieves ball..momentum carrying him OB. Player pushes ball to floor. That’s all it says. Legal.

Your applying facts of sit b. No returning to court, grabbing ball and dribbling in sit a.
Okay. Even so, by dictionary definition, "retrieve" means to regain possession. Thumpferee's opening statement said A1 retrieved the ball as his momentum was carrying him OOB. It can be argued that A1, with possession of the ball with both feet on the court, who then pushes the ball to the floor has started a legal dribble and then violated by stepping out of bounds. Compare with 7.1.1 Situation B.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 10, 2019, 05:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
Sorry for confusion!

Both a and b have A1 stepping OOB, coming back in, grabbing the ball, and then dribbling.

From what I gather, both are the beginning of a dribble while going OOB. When A1 returns to the court and grabs the ball, he cannot legally dribble again. But, he could continue to dribble.

If A1 tipped the ball back into the court, he can do both?

The reason for the question is, I was told A1 cannot dribble at all after coming back onto the court.

I also assume there is no difference between being on the court or in the air as the CB play refers.

Tx
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 10, 2019, 06:18pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,397
Classic Reminder Phrase ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
... assume there is no difference between being on the court or in the air ...
It depends on where you were before becoming airborne.

You are where you were until you get where you're going.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 11, 2019, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
Both a and b have A1 stepping OOB, coming back in, grabbing the ball, and then dribbling.
Sorry -- that's not how I read the OP. And, it changes my answer in post 2 above. I'll edit it.

Now, both (a) and (b) are the same situation. What matters is did A1 "retrieve" (i.e., "control") the ball before pushing / throwing it to the floor? Would you have granted a TO if requested at that precise time (and if you were quick enough to react, etc.)? If so, then this action is the start of a dribble, and all "continuing to dribble" and "ending the dribble" rules apply.

Or, did the ball just deflect off of A to the floor? Now, it's not a dribble and A can then catch the ball and now can start a dribble.

It's the same as we see when A1 passes to A2 and A2 does not catch it cleanly. 99% of the time, this is NOT the start of a dribble and A2 can gain control of the ball and then dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 10, 2019, 06:15pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,397
Lets Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
Compare with 7.1.1 Situation B.
7.1.1 SITUATION B: A1 blocks a pass near the end line. The ball falls to the floor inbounds, but A1, who is off balance, steps off the court. A1 returns inbounds, secures control of the ball and dribbles. RULING: Legal. A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did. This situation is similar to one in which A1 makes a try from under the basket and momentum carries A1 off the court. If the try is unsuccessful, A1 may come back onto the court and regain control since A1 did not leave the court voluntarily and did not have control of the ball when he/she did.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VIDEO REQUEST - Kicking Violation and 10 Second Violation - OU/WV -- January 16, 2016 WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 1 Sat Jan 16, 2016 06:36pm
Free Violation and Lane Violation Situation habram Basketball 3 Tue Dec 10, 2013 06:23pm
Backcourt violation - 3 second violation Shades of Gray Basketball 15 Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:38pm
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1