The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 04, 2019, 09:10pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,106
Correctable Error or Not?

Mark, Jr., and I attended a LOA meeting tonight and the following Play was presented to the group. I presented my Ruling below but the Ruling presented to the group was that B2's FG should not count because it was a CE, which was because the Officials should not have allowed Team B to have the Ball to make a Throw-in after A2's FG at Team B's Basket.


Play: The Players for both teams are lined up correctly for the Jump Ball to begin the game. A1 tips the Ball to A2 who is standing in Team A's Back Court. A2 immediately pivots toward Team B's Basket and dribbles toward Team B's Basket and Attempts a successful Two-Point FG at Team B's Basket. B1 then takes the Ball Out-of-Bounds, passes the Ball to B2 who then Attempts a successful Two-Point FG at Team B's Basket. A1 then takes the Ball Out-of-Bounds, passes the Ball to A2 who then dribbles the length of the Court and Attempts a successful Two-Point FG at Team A's Basket. Team A's HC immediately requests a Correctable Error TO. A-HC wants B2's FG negated because Team A should have received a Throw-in after A2 erroneously scored in Team B's Basket and not Team B.

(My) Ruling: The score is Team A: 2, and Team B: 4. Team A is charged with a TO because this was not a Correctable Error. NFHS R7-S6-A6 and Casebook Play 7.6.6.


NFHS R7-S6-A6: When an official administers a throw-in to the wrong team, the mistake must be rectified before the throw-in ends.

Casebook Play 7.6.6 SITUATION: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. The administering official by mistake, puts the ball at B1's disposal. B1 completes the throw-in and Team B subsequently scores a goal. RULING: No correction can be made for the mistake by the official after the throw-in ends.


What say you?

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Thu Dec 05, 2019 at 12:35am. Reason: Added opening paragraph.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shot clock error- correctable error? mutantducky Basketball 11 Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:35am
NOT a Correctable Error, BUT should it be??? CMHCoachNRef Basketball 17 Thu Jan 29, 2009 05:17pm
Correctable error??? Kelvin green Basketball 13 Mon May 14, 2007 12:40pm
correctable error or not? spivo Basketball 5 Sat Feb 10, 2007 10:20am
Correctable Error? Viking32 Basketball 3 Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1