![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Let's try this: Team B scores a basket. During the subsequent throw-in, your 5-second count is at 4 and A1 and A2 are out of bounds behind the endline. Inbounder A1 throws a pass, which travels high and over the endline, and you stop your count. In a surprise move, A1, still out of bounds, steps back, and takes a running leap, jumps over the endline, catches the ball in the air, and throws it back to A2, who is still out of bounds. This stepping back, catching, and throwing back to A2 action, took more than 2 seconds. When A1 caught his own pass, was that legal? When the official stopped counting, is there recourse? Can the official resume counting? If so when? Or is it simply a 5 second violation even though the count was stopped but you knew it took longer than 5 seconds? What does "directly on the court" mean? Officials stop counting on the release, not when the ball touches something. So in the OP, should not have the official stopped counting once the pass was released? (remember it was not a fumble/muff, but rather a pass)
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist? ![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Throw-in question | just another ref | Basketball | 49 | Mon Nov 23, 2015 11:15am |
Throw in question | Terrapins Fan | Basketball | 4 | Fri Feb 22, 2013 12:56am |
throw-in question | DaveRef | Basketball | 9 | Sun Dec 13, 2009 07:15pm |
two questions - start of half question and free throw question | hoopguy | Basketball | 6 | Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm |
Throw-In Question | Husker John | Basketball | 1 | Mon Jan 30, 2006 01:44pm |