The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2019, 03:00pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,609
Travel ...

Thirty-eight years and I've never seen this, nor will I probably ever see it again.

I observed two of my friends working a state tournament game a few nights ago and one of them nailed this odd and rare casebook call.

4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach ... traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball.

Not too shabby.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2019, 09:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Thirty-eight years and I've never seen this, nor will I probably ever see it again.

I observed two of my friends working a state tournament game a few nights ago and one of them nailed this odd and rare casebook call.

4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach ... traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball.

Not too shabby.
Yes, a good play to remember, not only for the events in the case play, but for when a player puts the ball on the floor, does not rise, and grabs the ball again. That would result in no-call.

Doubting that scenario will ever happen but now that I have mentioned it, probably happen next week.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 11, 2019, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 266
Nice.

Also important to note that "put the ball on the floor" doesn't mean dribble, as it's colloquially used. It means to literally set the ball on the floor and then pick it up after rising.

It would be easy to read this language as not being allowed to dribble while you rise, which would be incorrect.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 12, 2019, 03:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 882
4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach ... traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball.

I would love to know who came up with this ruling and their rational behind it. I presume that the traveling rule and pivot foot requirements were years ahead of this play. Someone then decided that it would be considered traveling even though the player is neither holding the ball nor controlling it. Plus, they cared in the first place that it was even an action that should be considered illegal.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?

Last edited by bucky; Tue Mar 12, 2019 at 06:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 12, 2019, 03:42pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,609
What Pivot Foot ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
I would love to know who came up with this ruling and their rational behind it. I presume that the traveling rule and pivot foot requirements were years ahead of this play. Someone then decided that it would be considered traveling even though the player is neither holding the ball or controlling it.
It's an odd play and an odd ruling. Holding ball at beginning, holding ball at end, no player control in the middle, doesn't judge legal or illegal movement of pivot foot, pivot foot isn't even mentioned.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2019, 08:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach ... traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball.

I would love to know who came up with this ruling and their rational behind it. I presume that the traveling rule and pivot foot requirements were years ahead of this play. Someone then decided that it would be considered traveling even though the player is neither holding the ball nor controlling it. Plus, they cared in the first place that it was even an action that should be considered illegal.
I always assumed this was one of those "not permitted an advantage which is not intended by rule" sort of things. Allowing this would be an advantage not intended by the rule which says after gaining control while on the floor, the player may not attempt to get up or stand (paraphrasing rule).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 15, 2019, 08:43am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
I always assumed this was one of those "not permitted an advantage which is not intended by rule" sort of things. Allowing this would be an advantage not intended by the rule which says after gaining control while on the floor, the player may not attempt to get up or stand (paraphrasing rule).
That's how it was explained to me after my 1st or 2nd year in officiating. The person who explained it that way went on to become an NCAA-Women's regional observer and now is the women's coordinator of officials for the MEAC and CIAA.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 17, 2019, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
I always assumed this was one of those "not permitted an advantage which is not intended by rule" sort of things. Allowing this would be an advantage not intended by the rule which says after gaining control while on the floor, the player may not attempt to get up or stand (paraphrasing rule).
I understand that angle. However, I would consider it a disadvantage to relinquish control of the ball temporarily. It is a risky move. Besides, starting a dribble is allowed. Seems no different to me as far as the advantage angle.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video: Not a travel in NBA, but would you call this a travel in HS or NCAA jump stop Basketball 52 Sun Apr 08, 2012 12:19pm
Travel ? gslefeb Basketball 19 Sun Feb 13, 2011 08:57am
Travel? hoopsjw Basketball 7 Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:33am
Travel, or No? Chavez Basketball 11 Mon Nov 29, 2010 06:10pm
No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz fletch_irwin_m Basketball 49 Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1