The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2019, 01:25am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,491
Block/Charge or something else (Video)



Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2019, 03:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,605
Not sure how you could get anything but a charge on that if you're applying the actual rules. Defender had LGP long before contact (way outside of RA) and was moving legally to maintain it.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2019, 03:46am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,491
I think you can make a case that there was contact before the block/charge play. Again, not an easy play and maybe not the right official making the call either. But a tough play nonetheless.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2019, 08:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NB/PEI, Canada
Posts: 729
If that call is on the primary defender I'm ok with it. If the block is on the secondary defender that's rough.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game!

Me: Thanks, but why the big rush.

Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2019, 09:08am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,151
Only possible defensive foul on this play would be a push from behind by the primary defender, which only could have been called by the Center official. W15 did nothing illegal.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2019, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 255
I think there is a travel before the PC, he goes left-left on the hop.

But it's definitely not a block.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2019, 11:47am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicGuy View Post
I think there is a travel before the PC, he goes left-left on the hop.

But it's definitely not a block.
That was a jump stop attempt. I saw nothing that I would call a travel here. And he never really lands before the contact.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2019, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 812
Easy charge, C official flinched his left arm and, IMO, was about to signal a PC.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2019, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 462
Where was C?

That's got to be his call all the way doesn't it? Speculation only but, maybe as he's trying to sort out call/no-call on the initial bump, he brain-locks on the player control?

Ok, just rewatched and he was transitioning from T to C so may have picked it up late. Nightmare scenario really as L was either moving too or had already done so when the play developed.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2019, 02:47pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
That's got to be his call all the way doesn't it? Speculation only but, maybe as he's trying to sort out call/no-call on the initial bump, he brain-locks on the player control?

Ok, just rewatched and he was transitioning from T to C so may have picked it up late. Nightmare scenario really as L was either moving too or had already done so when the play developed.
I'm completely perplexed as to the positioning of the officials when the video starts. The Lead is pinched on the paint opposite the ball. The Trail is still FTLE and moving up as if the Lead had just rotated. The Center is on ball above the 28' line. I'm venturing that the Lead started a rotation that he should have aborted and should have went back ball-side.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 12, 2019, 04:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 552
Before the block/charge play, I have a push by White 5. The contact caused the Blue player to crash into his opponent, so Blue will receive the ball on the endline, with 20 seconds on the shot clock.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 13, 2019, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: A little east of there.
Posts: 646
C does not have a push or illegal hands against the primary defender that was beaten off the dribble by A1 coming out of his PCA.

L calls a block, but I'm not sure why. B2 obtains LGP long before contact by A1.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2019, 03:13pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
I'm completely perplexed as to the positioning of the officials when the video starts. The Lead is pinched on the paint opposite the ball. The Trail is still FTLE and moving up as if the Lead had just rotated. The Center is on ball above the 28' line. I'm venturing that the Lead started a rotation that he should have aborted and should have gone back ball-side.
To answer my own question. The Lead had clearly rotated. The old T/new C was slow in moving to C positioning. The ball then came back right in his lap and he stayed on the matchup.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 16, 2019, 04:42pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,379
A Mark Goodson & Bill Todman Production ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
To answer my own question.
That's my line.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Charge or Block (Video) xyrph Basketball 40 Sat Aug 08, 2015 04:01am
Block/Charge? (Video) SCalScoreKeeper Basketball 21 Mon Mar 23, 2015 02:19pm
Another Block/Charge (Video) IUgrad92 Basketball 21 Tue Feb 10, 2015 03:58pm
Block or Charge? (Video) Freddy Basketball 16 Wed Feb 12, 2014 05:00pm
Block/Charge video ballgame99 Basketball 27 Sat Aug 31, 2013 09:51am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1